Wanna hear a funny story?

Good. Had I not had a long session with the seam ripper today, I would be showing you the COMPLETED Savannah Satchel. Alas…maybe tomorrow.

Instead, I want to tell you what happened the other day. My grandpa – my mom’s dad –  died on Friday. I have been extraordinarily lucky to have had all four of my grandparents well into my adulthood–even my daughter has had them to an age when she can remember them well. This loss was especially hard for all of us.

But a strange thing happened the day Grandpa died. We grew up with Boston terriers. He raised Boston terriers for a while. To us, there was no other kind of dog to have–Bostons were the best. I see more and more of them around my little town, but where my parents live, they are fairly uncommon.

I was on the phone with my mom in the evening when a stray dog came up on her porch. Do you know what kind of dog it was? A stray Boston terrier appeared on her porch. It had a collar. It appeared well cared for and was very well behaved.  My parents walked it around the neighborhood in hopes that the dog would lead them somewhere or someone would be out looking for this little dog.

No one recognized it. They took it back home. At this time of day, the animal shelter was closed, but a police officer came and picked up the dog and took her to the animal shelter for the weekend. After the funeral on Monday, we called to check on the dog. No one had called to claim her by the afternoon.

Where in the world did this little dog come from and where does she belong? Assuming no one claims her this week during her “stray” period, I’d like to think I know where she belongs.

21 Comments »

  1. OMG — I have goosebumps! I have to know how this story ends!

  2. Stephanie said

    So sorry to hear about your grandpa. The world does work in mysterious ways. I think this little boston terrier is going to have a new and loving home.

  3. Sarah said

    I’m so sorry about your grandpa Amy. Life is a funny thing, I would not be surprised if that terrier hangs about. So that’s why you have a Boston Terrier on your Twitter profile :) Take care of yourself, hugs from this side x

  4. Jackie said

    I am so sorry to hear about your grandpa. My thoughts are with you and your family. I agree, I think that I know where the dog belongs too.

  5. Anita said

    So sorry to hear about your grandfather. I am pretty sure that that little pup will be a part of your lives in the future. And it’s exactly what it is need at this very moment!

  6. pam said

    So sorry about your grandpa, looks like he sent a little message. xo

  7. Lisa said

    Your story brought tears to my eyes. I think I know where that doggy belongs…

  8. lily boot said

    Oh Amy – I’m sad to hear about your grandad – I know he was probably quite elderly (like my grandad) and had had a good life and everyone has their time to leave. But none of that makes it less sad when they do go. Because we miss them so. I spent the day with my grandad today – I’m 40 which is so extraordinary and he has been such a wonderful grandad to Abby (maternal grandad pissed off to Sydney to start second life and paternal grandad is VERY eccentric) – and it is such a privilege because I know that it will come to an end soon. That doggy (btw – we are obssessed with Boston Terriers in this house – the only reason we bought a dachshund instead is because BTs have become woefully cool here and now cost $3000!) is certainly looking for his home. What an amazing story – I’m all goosey and want your mum to drive around to the animal shelter right now and bring that doggy home and cook him his favourite dinner! Oh dear Amy – thinking of you during this time. Take care :-)

  9. Liza said

    Hi Amy
    I am sorry to hear about your loss. My grandfather was also a Boston Terrier man. We grew up with them and I can say with confidence that they are the smartest of beasts. That lost dog knew exactly where she needed to go to be cared for.
    Liza

  10. MichelleB said

    I’m so sorry for you loss. That is a great story, though. I really think he belongs with you.

  11. Norma said

    I have no doubt where the little dog belongs. Sorry for your loss. It is hard to loose someone dear to you.

    From one dog lover to another…..

  12. Marianne C said

    Please go back and get him and have the priviledge of living with him again! Thanks for sharing that story.

  13. I am sorry for your loss. What an amazing story…do update us on the final outcome!

  14. Doris said

    Wow, what a story! I lost my Grandma in November…my prayers are with you and your family (including that sweet little Boston!)

  15. Paula Munter said

    So sorry to hear about your loss. My prayers are with you and your family during this trying time. Celebrate in the memories.

  16. krommama said

    what a sweet story. and i’m sorry for your loss of your grandfather. but how wonderful that you have so many memories with him.

  17. Sorry to hear of your loss…Amazing story…please keep us posted…I hope the little one finds a good home.

  18. Katy said

    Poor little fella. Both grandpa and the doggy. Isn’t it wonderful to have your own child share your grandparents? I still have both grandmothers (although one is more than a little confused – the other is fine in the mind, not so in the body) and my husband’s granny is going stronger than strong (at 88 this week too). Did you find out more about the dog? I hope he got home ok.

  19. ibby said

    I’m very sorry for your loss. I know where the puppy’s home will be.

    The day after I lost my Mom, a grey kitty found me. She had always wanted a grey cat. I know she sent my cat to me.

  20. kathy doughty said

    Sorry to hear about our grandpa. I lost my grandmother two years ago when I was near 50! She lived so long and nearly made 100 so when she died I was shocked. We assume these characters will be around forever…sounds spookily like your just morphed into a dog! Loss is hard to manage. all the best thoughts to your family. kathy

  21. Amanda said

    I, too, am sorry to hear about your grandpa.

    This is such a sweet story. I think I know where the dog belongs, too!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

