Georgia on My Mind block tutorial

For my purposes, I’m going to call this block Georgia on My Mind. Mainly because the block is called Georgia and it’s on my mind. I have to admit that I’ve never been to Georgia so I think the state itself can’t really be on my mind. I’m sure it’s lovely though.

Taking inspiration from Amy’s lovely tutorial layout for the Japanese x and + block, I did up some drawings rather than photo explanation. I’ve added some detail photos for the inset square. Click on the images below for full size.

Georgia on My Mind


Honestly, you know me (lazy…), would I make you do an inset seam if I didn’t think it was the best choice aesthetically? You can do this!

 

The photos below show how I pressed my corner blocks. The goal is to reduce bulk. You may find a better way that works for you. You may also need to trim the completed corners to 3 1/2″ square. If you do, each half of the block should measure 1 3/4″ (i.e., don’t just trim the square to 3 1/2″, make sure the corner square is 1 3/4″ and the mitered pieces are 1 3/4″).




Have fun!

16 Comments »

  1. floribunda said

    What a pretty block! I have to admit I’d be tempted to cheat and use HSTs instead of those inset seams, but yours looks lovely with the mitered stripes.

  2. Oh, I see two mitered corners. (I will not be intimidated!)
    What a fun block. Thanks for the tutorial, and for the tips on pressing to reduce bulk. I’d really like to give this one a try.

  3. Whoa, Amy!!! Incredible tute…you did all that in Word?? Amazingly generous of you to take the time and prepare all those illustrations. Thanks for your extensive instructions and that clever pressing trick. You’re fabulous, you know.

  4. JAYNE said

    Very nice looking block. Even with the y-seam. I like the color combination you chose and the stripe line matching up – cool effect!
    Thanks for sharing this tutorial.
    Happy Quilting!

  5. Leila said

    Love this block, thank you so much for taking the time to write this tutorial!! It’s high up on my to do list. But I’m warning in advance I may chicken out and cheat on those y seams with some half square triangles ;-)

  6. pam said

    You’re killing me not only with this block but the fancy illustrations. If I didn’t love you so much I’d totally envy-hate you.

  7. Mary Jo said

    Love the block. If I’m reading your instructions correctly, when doing the Y seam you stitch from the raw edges in to the mitered seam, right? Do you do any backstitching or anchor the stitches in any way?
    I’m still resisting the Japanese X blocks but I’ve found myself eyeing my fabrics to see what would work for them.

    • alobsiger said

      Yes, I do a little backstitching when I stop sewing at the inner corner/inset.

  8. jill redding said

    Thank you Thank you Thank you, I LOVE this block and I am going to go run up to my sewing room and make some right now!

  9. Donna said

    Such a cute block! You do the nicest tutorials–not sure I will do this in the near future, but it’s good to see your technique and learn a bit. Thanks!

  10. Cathy said

    Oh Wow Amy, fabulous tute, and what a lot of work you have done! Love it. xo

  11. belinda said

    W-a-y too COOL AMY!! Great block and as always another amazing tutorial from you! I’m especially impressed with your matched up stripes!!!

  12. pratima said

    Thank you so much, Amy! Your tutorial is so detailed and wonderful! Those matching of stripes is not for the faint hearted like me ;)

  13. Merel said

    Hi, Greetings from Holland and ‘the other mrs. Schmenkman’ who was in my shop today!
    I love to read your blog, although I must confess to not write comments so often (sorry for that)
    Bye , Merel

  14. Thanks for the inset instructions! Those have given me nightmares in the past..

  15. Mary said

    As a retired teacher, I would just like to say this is a great lesson plan! Your instructions and visuals are clear and concise. Excellent presentation. Now the real test… I need to try it!
    Hugs from Mary @ http://crookedgulleyartquilts.blogspot.blog

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

