Nearly lost in translation

Despite the quiet around this blog, I have been sewing. And sewing. And sewing. But I feel like I’ve been working on the same three quilts for a very long time. Which I have.

This is the last of three big buggers. Finally finished the top today. This is a wedding gift. I collected a very large pile of fabric first, including 13 yards of the Alexander Henry mustache fabric (most for the backing). I thought I would wing it, patternwise. When it came time to start, I thought better of the winging it approach and went hunting for a pattern. I settled on Emily Cier’s Discontinuity.

And then I decided to make it differently. Emily’s design uses her clever pixel piecing. I decided to translate it to be able to sew with bigger chunks.

Ahem.

First, print the schematic and don’t panic. Next, sew up a couple of sections. Third, ask what the heck am I doing? Fourth, head down, eyes on your own paper, cut, sew, cut, sew, do a little math, get out the seam ripper, work out some partial seams thanks to your “clever” translation, cut, sew, press. Until some time days later, the queen sized top is done, there are threads hatching from every seam that will need to be trimmed. It could really use a good re-pressing.

Sigh.

And now to do the quilting. Straight line. Straight-ish line. Wobbly line. I have a cone of thread ready for the task.

18 Comments »

  1. Amy said

    This is so beautiful! I think it was totally worth your sticking to it and finishing it. Both the colors and the pattern are fabulous!

  2. Susannah said

    Gorgeous! That orange is positively juicy…

  3. It is just beautiful! You worked it out!

  4. Sharon T said

    Wowzer! Love, love love it!

  5. Nedra said

    the orange and gray go perfectly together. Nice wedding present!

  6. I like this quilt so much. It is the kind of thing I would love to be able to do, but lack the courage to begin! Bravo!

  7. Vreni said

    It’s absolutely gorgeous! What a fabulous wedding gift!

  8. Jo Ann said

    Fantastuc!

  9. Tamie said

    Wow. This is stunning.

  10. AnnieO said

    MMMMmmmm love that orange popping with the gray. Glad you kept your head down and powered to a complete top. I have a crapload of threads to bury in the most recent quilt I made, which I’ve been dreading. Great gift!

  11. Mary Jo said

    Wow! It turned out even better than I imagined when you described it. I sure hope the lucky couple appreciates it. I’m glad you were able to stick with it and get the top finished and I know you must be relieved to have it done…And now for the quilting :-)

  12. But it looks gorg-e-ous! Clever clogs.

  13. I’m glad you didn’t give up; this quilt is fabulous!

  14. It looks absolutely beautiful! Love the colours and how they work with this design… It may have given you nightmares but the result is really stunning.

  15. Cathy said

    I love everything about this monster!…the colour, the pattern, the fabrics, wow! It will be beautiful straightish line quilted too. xo

  16. Jopsy said

    Lovey to see you here-thought you may have disappeared under a pile of fabric! Love the quilt-V funky x

  17. Very cool, Amy. I like the bits of mustache that pop up here and there…

  18. I found your lovely quilt on pinterest and came to visit:) It’s gorgeous! and thanks for the great tutorial on circles, I love em too, I’ve got to try this method, it looks fab!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

