That’s a lot of French knots

2french-knots.jpg

Among other treasures, this lovely vintage pillowcase arrived today amid packing peanuts in the shape of grommets. Let’s just say that the effervescent Mrs. S. (not me, the OTHER Mrs. S.) found an estate sale filled with grommets and other treasures. She is so generous! I now have grommets in all sizes and some pretty “new” vintage textiles!

In any event, I looked at this pillowcase and thought, “oh, nice needle punch.” KNOT! Literally. I’m having a hard time finding the patience to do a tidy back stitch on some ravelly flower petals. So the thousands of upstanding French knots are shaming me mightily.

Keeping with the theme of surface design, I found this book today:

stitchedcoll.jpg

I was not familiar with Lucille Toumi, but what a wonderful book! It does not contain patterns, but discusses her surface design techniques and materials and walks the reader through the methods of one project. AND THEN she discusses a slew of her works and the variety of techniques used in each work. The photography is fantastic with plenty of detail shots and further discussion of the DETAIL of the work. Many of the pieces discussed in the book can be seen at her web site. What inspiration!

I recently took an online class at Joggles taught by Susan Sorrell that would be a great starting point for anyone wanting some hands-on guidance in this kind of work. This fall Susan Sorrell will be teaching Creative Embroidery Organic Designs and Doodling Designs. I may have to sign up for the doodling one. I admit that I’ve not done this kind of work before because I was never sure where to start. The class was superb, especially in that regard.

I’ll crawl back to my hot pink perle cotton now. I’m working on a back to school outfit (who doesn’t need a new twirly skirt??). However, today someone requested to wear a store-bought dress on the first day of school. Well, I guess the dress needs to be worn before it’s outgrown. Oh well.

2 Comments »

  1. Wow! I’m glad you liked everything. There is much more where that came from, but I haven’t found the time to go through it and pack it up for you yet! And the take-out containers were just from Michael’s. They made me think of you. (You know, folded nicely with a convenient handle!)

    No one has ever called me effervescent before! My family will think it’s just a polite way to say I’m gassy.

    I need a twirly skirt! I need a twirly skirt!

  2. All the old stuff I wore as a child is coming back. Kinda scary and makes you feel old, but it looks great most of the time.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

