Because there won’t be enough sweets around tomorrow

scpie1.jpg

I bring you a good old-fashioned sugar cream pie. It is my current culinary obsession. I grew up in Indiana where this is practically the state pie. OK, in my family it would qualify as the state pie. Because there was an abundance of sugar cream pie available for purchase (not mass produced frozen ones), I never actually saw one made in my family. We loved them, we didn’t need to make them. Well, sugar cream pies have been on my mind lately because my mom has been punishing me by raving about the sugar cream pie from a local baker. It’s not bad enough I can’t get Heyerly’s donuts. In order to address this pie craving, I have scoured the internet for recipes. It seems there are lots of variations. Panic ensues. Which one makes the RIGHT pie? This is my second attempt. The first one tasted right but had a full rolling boil going on in the oven and thus was not photogenic–having spilled much of its contents onto the baking sheet.

This one looks much better. Let’s hope it tastes right. I’ll get back to you on that. Here is the recipe for this one. It is from The Amish Cook.

Homemade Sugar Cream Pie
1 cup water
1½ cups sugar
½ cup flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup butter
1 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
Boil water with butter. Remove from heat. Mix sugar, flour, salt and stir into above mixture. Add cream and vanilla. Sprinkle with nutmeg. Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

Welcome to Indiana! Nothing flashy, we just like good pie.

EDITED: It was tough, but I found time to taste test this pie. While it is still delicious, this version is a little more custardy in texture than I like. I prefer something a little more creamy and the flavor wasn’t quite as good as the previous pie which used 1 1/2 cups cream and did not have the butter and water combo used in this recipe.

5 Comments »

  1. That looks great. This is not Chess Pie is it? The ingredients are very similar.

  2. cheryl said

    The pie looks great. For myself I grew up in Minnesota, but married a man from Indiana. Never heard of a suger cream pie tell visiting his family in Indiana ( lived in several states and have not come across this pie anywhere else). I fell in love with it the first bite and still after 27 years it is my all time favorite. It has become a tradition to get a pie when we go home to Indiana and I seem to inhale a whole pie by myself over a 6 hour time. If you need other recipes I may be able to copy some that I have from a couple of Indiana church recipe books. Thanks for sharing and love your blog, quilting is so universal and have a great day.
    Cheryl M from Florida

  3. I didn’t have sugar cream pie until I was in college. And Allen County has plenty of Amish influence! Maybe it was because our traditional holiday fare was all Croatian.

  4. Kim said

    OMG! Sugar Cream Pie! I love it! I grew up in Ohio….hubby thinks I’m crazy…acts like it’s not really even a pie….what does he know. He grew up in South Dakota…..obviously lacking in culinary taste! :o)

  5. […] still not quite right. This one may have too much vanilla flavor. I’ll have to continue my research. I have many versions to try…but probably not until after the holidays. I think there will be […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

