Well, I didn’t know we would have to involve the fire marshal

quilting-time.jpg

Detail from Quilting Time by Romare Bearden

It is quite a magnificent re-do of the Detroit Institute of Arts. The re-opening was celebrated by 32 straight hours of free access to art, entertainment and activities. Kind of a nice shot in the arm for a metro area and state feeling a hard economic hit.

We arrived just ahead of day two’s massive crowds. By mid-afternoon a line snaked from one of the museum’s entrances all the way down the block. We were glad we didn’t have to stand out in the cold. We will have to go back soon to admire the new digs with some smaller number of “friends.” It is amazing.

greathall.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Can’t wait to see it myself. I can’t tolerate crowds so I missed the grand opening. I have not actually been there in years because every time I would go the stuff I wanted to see was under construction. I am glad it was free for awhile. Detroit and Detroiters need a huge boost or to at least take their minds off their troubles for awhile. I don’t remember seeing the Romare Bearden before. I will be on the lookout whenever I get there. Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. The Other Mrs. Schmenkman said

    Wow! I’m going to have to save set aside some time on my next visit. I guess I didn’t realize it had closed. We used to love to wander that gorgeous museum when the Bigs were Littles. There’s a special place in my heart for Bouguereau’s The Nut Gatherers.

  3. The Nut Gatherers was always my first destination. I have several reproductions in my house.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

