Now, about that cupcake

First, though, I picked up this:

ruffler.jpg

Yes, but, Bernina, how do I USE it? Any bets on how soon this little appliance gets a try-out? Hopefully it will make an appearance on the machine sooner than the felting attachment has (um, still in box). (It seemed like a good idea at the time. I was feeling artsy, what can I say?)
But, back to this:

cupcake2.jpg

Today we are celebrating the 100th posting from this here blog. So, we shall have a little celebratory something AND GIVE AWAY A SMALL CUPCAKE QUILT (PROBABLY WITH FEATHER QUILTING! Get out! No! You don’t say!)!  So, leave me a comment before midnight EST on Thursday, December 6, 2007. Here’s a little twist. You’ll get two entries if you also email me (alobsigerATgmailDOTcom) and tell me from what pop culture source material the name “Mrs. Schmenkman” is derived. Wheeeee!

35 Comments »

  1. […] EDITED: For more info on that cupcake, see here.  […]

  2. Paula said

    Happy Blogiversary! 🙂 A Cupcake quilt?! How wonderful! You are so generous!

    Congratulations! And here is to many many more!!!! (blog entries that is…)
    Paula 🙂

  3. Ohhhh…I have been drooling over your cupcakes…gotta enter 🙂
    Happy 100th!

  4. pam said

    OHHHH A RUFFLER FOOT!!! Its super easy and fun and for sure you know how to work it now. Email me if you have any questions. I love that foot.

    Enter me enter me.

  5. Lisa D. said

    Ooo – that’s a scary looking device, but a beautiful cupcake! Please enter me in the draw, Mrs. S.

  6. Camille said

    That foot is terrifying!! Good luck with that! Can I join in on your drawing? I am drooling over that quilt!

  7. Diana said

    Darling use of the yo-yo! My grammy used to make a number of projects out of yo-yos, that was in the 60’s. Nice to see them on a comeback, let alone on a cupcake!

  8. Ok why would anyone purchase anything that intimidating. I can barely use my walking foot. I hate machines anyway so that would never tempt me. More power to you if you use it.

    By the way, we were on Twelve Mile last night and I was looking for the new location. Have you moved yet and which direction from the old spot will it be? I found two dollhouse shops there and Sarah is as well so I will be showing up soon I hope.

  9. Ok don’t pay attention to me. I just went back and read the other post on the Guildcrafters blog. If my memory worked I would have remembered that.

  10. Kathy said

    Hey Mrs. S! I’ve been lurking around your blog for weeks now, not to mention e-mailing my friends about it. It’s so much fun. And I’m not usually the frilly type, but that cupcake is pretty darned cute.

    Meanwhile, check out the Bernina website for more information about your new feet. They have demonstration videos that show how to attach and use some of the specialty feet. I’m sure you’ll be showing off ruffled free-motion feather quilts in no time.

  11. Joanna said

    Oh yes yes yes soooo gorgeous! I gotta be in on this one! Congrats on the big one-oh-oh!

  12. Pauline said

    Congratulations on your 100th post! I love your cupcake quilt! It looks yummy!

  13. Oooh, please enter me! Sorry, I can’t answer your name question ’cause I’m a pop culture idjit! Love, love your feather quilting!

  14. dorothy said

    i don’t have a blog but i’ve been reading them for several month–what a treat to discover yours! (through the ubiquitous pamkittymorning)

  15. jette said

    Lovely cupcakes! And happy blogiversary!

    Jette

  16. deb said

    What a cute quilt that is going to be. I love the cupcake and the fabrics.
    deb

  17. That’s awesome, Mrs. S! If I stare at the cupcake picture until my eyes go unfocused, I see a ruffler in my future!

  18. The Other Mrs. Schmenkman said

    Memories . . . while I was delivering Zingarella, the TV was still on in the room. While I was having a big contraction I heard ” . . . Mrs. Schmenkman . . .” and started laughing. I couldn’t begin to explain to the nurse what was so funny. Jamie Lee brought you right there with me, Mrs. S!

  19. Mar said

    Oh boy a give away, I’ll come out of lurkland for a cupcake any time!! Please enter me!

  20. Diane said

    I’m new to your blog. There’s nothing like a give-away to bring us lurkers out of the woodwork. Congratulations and please count me in!

  21. Cupcakes! Yum!!

    I’m posting my first Lollypop Tree block on my blog. Be sure to check it out.

  22. Sandy said

    Oh, how fun! I’m giving away the cupcake pattern & you are giving away a cute cupcake quilt!!

  23. There was a great article in Threads magazine in 1999 (? I’d have to check the year) on the ruffler foot – email me, maybe I can get you a copy *wink!*

  24. laurie said

    That cupcake looks good enough to eat.

  25. Ruby said

    PKM sent me! The cupcake is too cute. Thanks for entering me in your drawing.

  26. sharon said

    Happy Blogiversary to ya!!! WOW a year already? I’m about half way there. Please enter me in the drawing. I would loooove a cupcake of any kind but a quilt!!! WOOOO

  27. kira said

    Found your blog thru PKM’s blog … what a beautiful quilt and I love the yo-yo’s! 🙂 I’m a beginning quilter and am so inspired by it! 🙂 Definitely going to pick up that pattern for my little girl’s room. 🙂 But I’d love a chance at a giveaway too. Thanks! 🙂

  28. Sequana said

    Those cupcakes are all over the place, aren’t they? *S*

    And so tasty looking.

  29. Jana said

    That quilt is way too cute. My little girl would just love it!

  30. Vicki said

    I just love the cupcakes. Combining quilting and sweets…perfect!

  31. Jackie said

    I would love a little cupcake quilt!! It definitely has less calories than a real one and lasts for a long time!!

  32. Laura Tawney said

    I’m new to your blog and it’s great. I love the cupcake quilt colors. It’s beautiful!! Please count me in:)
    Laura

  33. sherry said

    Happy 100th post in blogland! Love your blog & that cupcake is looking pretty good! 🙂 That attachment ( appliance) is WAY over my head! LOL Good luck!

  34. Jean-o said

    I’m with Jackie… cupcakes w/out the calories…. whopeeee! Happy Bloganiversary! Guess I read others to see what I’m missing! Take care and here’s to another year! Great work! Bet you didn’t think this many people would sign up hmmmm?

  35. Pat said

    Congrats on your 100th post. I love those cupcakes. Everywhere you look these days you see cupcakes. I have seen more cupcakes this season than candy canes. I like cupcakes better too.!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

