Hello Spring?

Um, hello, Weather Channel? This is Michigan calling. What up?

Maybe it’s cold where you are. I’m sure it will soon be cold again where we are. Right now it is 62 degrees F. Oh well, have some of this warm beverage anyway. It’s tasty, a concoction of drinking chocolate, coffee and locally made vanilla marshmallow. yum

cuppa.jpg

It was a great mail day. In a few weeks, I’ll be having a class with Sue Spargo on her lovely quilt Greenbrier. I broke down and just ordered the kit. I customized it a little bit with some raspberry wool in place of the red block backgrounds. Oh so pretty! It’s so nice in its little packages, I don’t know if I can sully it by opening them up.
greenbrier.jpg

Aren’t there some creative endeavors that just about break your heart because they are so wonderful? Seeing this did that for me. I think Sue Spargo is a genius (not to mention Sarah, in this case, the creator of the quilt in the picture). Sometimes I wish I had just a whiffle of creative genius and could dream up things like this. I have a great time sewing things and putting fabrics together, but it’s the concept that I’m after…methinks it must make the heart sing more loudly.

My brain has felt a little stifled lately (paint fumes?). The creative juices freed up just a little after perusing Quilted One Block Marvels by Carolyn Sullivan.

marvels.jpg

I just love the cover quilt. So I made a start wanting to just test a few blocks. Then the morning got hijacked and turned into the afternoon, and now I need to make nine more blocks in order to really get the idea of what mine might look like. I did learn a lot about how I ought to be freehand cutting this…and the way I ought to be doing it isn’t exactly the way I did it so I might as well start over. Stifled again…
marvelblocks.jpg

Applecores and marvels will have to wait as I need to supervise the coloring of two sides of the American flag which, to scale, will measure 1″ wide by 5/8″ tall. Yeah, that oughta be fun.

7 Comments »

  1. The Other Mrs. Schmenkman said

    Oh, SWEET! Looks like those blocks are worth having-to-make-three-to-get-one! Lovely! I’m going to have to check that book out of my library and take a deeper look-see. Mmmmm–drinking chocolate with coffee and marshmallow! Too warm here to consider hot drinks. My caffeine is slushy and cola-y today.

  2. Sequana said

    I’m in the midst of making Sue Spargo’s BOM quilt from 2007. I just LOVE her designs! Plus, I bought her EQ Folk Art Dreams software when it first came out. It’s way more fun than it should be….*S*

    I thot I’d be working on her beautiful wool in the cold of the winter here in Chicago, but you’re right……it’s 63 right now and the sun’s not even out.

  3. pam said

    I love that Sue Spargo quilt! I can’t wait to see your progress on it. And that curved piece looks interesting. Curves are pretty much my last piecing frontier I think.. and yum a good coffee drink sounds tasty.

  4. Ooh I like those.

  5. Amy have you seen any fabric with books on it at the store? It is hopeless trying to find some online. I can only bring up books. Thanks.

  6. The Other Mrs. Schmenkman said

    No reviews yet on Amazon for the book, BTW.

  7. Carolyn Sullivan said

    Hi,

    It is so exciting to see my quilt being done by someone lese. Congratulations.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

