S L O W: curves ahead

Blah blah blah applecore…

curves.jpg

You know those people who claim to be able to piece curves without clipping and without pins? I don’t believe ’em. I tried a few like that and quickly retreated to full on curve clipping and pinning. I am also throwing caution to the wind and ignoring the recommendations on which curve (innie or outtie) should be against the feeddogs (the recommendation in Piecing the Piece O’ Cake Way is to have the convex curve – the outtie – against the feeddogs).

It has been quite a while since I’ve done much curved piecing. And even then I usually did it by hand since it was easier to control that way. I have the Elisa’s templates and BELIEVE curved piecing can be done sans pins… But, we are doing the best we can with the skillz we currently have. I’m not complaining. It is still fun. I am just glad that this is a small quilt. I have four out of ten rows sewn together. Before it gets to the machine, it looks something like this:

messopins.jpg

I empty my pin holder when I pin a whole row. May I just ask why it is that I am saving broken machine needles? That’s what I am left with when a row is pinned.

I will spare you a close-up of the index finger on my left hand. That would be the site of many “pin throughs.” You know, when you pin through your finger and just try to gauge how much skin is under that pin. If it’s not a large amount, just rip the pin away from your finger AND MOVE ON. All in all, this is going to be a cheerful quilt and I will have some curves under my quilting belt.

11 Comments »

  1. Kathy said

    Oh Mrs. S!! I admire your fortitude: pins AND curves! I hate the bother of pinning, all the more so since my newest cat has the exceptionally annoying habit of pulling all the pins out of the pin cushion, some to chew and some to toss on the floor. But your apple cores are beautiful — look at how precisely all those seams meet, and not a bulge or pucker in sight. I bludgeoned all my fingertips this past weekend basting two quilts for my nieces. I found that ice cream sandwiches greatly accelerated the healing process. You might want to try it.

  2. I have been sewing for fifty years and I have yet to believe you can sew curves without pins. It looks like you are doing quite well with them. I would continue. The quilt looks lovely.

  3. pam said

    You just keep dazzling me with your skilz!

  4. Lorre said

    I admire your persistence to pin so much. The curves must be perfect. It is impossible to change from outies to innies without pinning if you want a somewhat perfect top. You are doing the right thing. With that many pins it will be PERFECT!

  5. Paula said

    I am simply amazed…it looks perfect!
    Best wishes on the remaining rows!

    Many Blessings,
    Paula πŸ™‚

  6. twolimeleaves said

    ACK!! You have my sympathy and admiration πŸ™‚
    I HATE sewing curves.

  7. Mar said

    ooo, good to find this, I can relate! I’m just finished some dunkard paths blocks to marke turtles. I guess I was doing it the Piece O Cake way, that was what worked for me, only used 3 pins tho and my favorite tool… gripping tweezers to hold. I love what your doing with your curves!

  8. You know, I was pinning pinning pinning on a curvey quilt too – then I bought the Curvemaster foot. The big thing is that you don’t have a lot of front of the foot in the way – it’s more dangerous for your fingers – but I can HONESTLY hand on my heart tell you I don’t pin at all now!

  9. Samantha said

    Oh my goodness, that is amazingly gorgeous. And as for pinning curves, I’ve always had too. Always. Take care of the pin-ravaged finger!

  10. […] 15, 2008 at 8:40 pm · Filed under Books, Everyday Things, Great Quilt Patterns The applecore top is completed. I wasn’t going to bed last night until the last two rows were sewn on! […]

  11. Jackie said

    I love this quilt that you are working on. Did you just take the apple core block split it in half and add a strip???

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

