Hexagon helper

There is a lot of hexagon love out there these days. As I was cutting some out just now, it occurred to me to mention one of my favorite hexagon cutting tools. I think I’ve mentioned Brandy’s Mylar Pieces before, but they also have handy-dandy acrylic window templates for hexagons too:

hex.jpg

The inside of the template gives you the actual finished size of the hexagon. The outside adds the 1/4″ seam allowance.

Today I needed a few card stock templates in actual size (not having the size I needed in mylar pieces). So, I traced inside the window to get the finished size. Then I needed to cut some fabric hexagons to include the seam allowance, so I used a 28 mm rotary cutter to cut around the outside of the template. A little double stick tape helps keep the acrylic template in place while rotary cutting. Done and done.

I regularly pull out these templates and love that they make hexagon prep go quickly. And when I decide it’s CRAZY TIME, I can use the template to cut fabric for the 1/2″ hexagon mylar pieces that arrived recently. It seemed like a good idea at the time…

Edited later to add: And when you realize you have cut the wrong small size hexagons, it is slightly less painful to fix the situation. D’oh!

2 Comments »

  1. pam said

    Yeah, crazy is the operative word here. I like my EZ Hex ruler. Its a green hex shape, easy to rotary cut many sizes with a regular sized cutter. Not that I cut many hex’s that’s for sure.

  2. alobsiger said

    Ooh, I have the EZ Hex too. I wonder where that is…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

