Yes, but do you think it’s too much?

This leaning tower of fiber is the fabric I’m taking to the Sue Spargo workshop tomorrow. I received an email from the organizers that Sue will have small kits with her should anyone need something to work on in class. Heh heh heh. Got it covered, I think. I’ll be working on the already-started Ginger Grove. Last time I went to Sue’s workshop, I had a kit for her Greenbrier quilt. It is lovely; I do still love it, but I was working within a pre-determined color framework with liberties taken here and there. Now, it’s kind of a clean slate, and I will look forward to Sue’s advice on color. I guess Ginger Grove will be more of a spring/summer project and Greenbrier will be a fall/winter project.

Gosh, a body might think I’m a Sue-stalker. I prefer to think of myself as a groupie. It just sounds better.

I had fun collecting these fabrics. I’ve already mentioned the local haunt with its great selection of Japanese fabrics. Some of these also came from Superbuzzy. Love Superbuzzy! But there were particular colorways of some prints that I couldn’t get from either of these sources, so I went to my favorite quilting search engine. I’ve been hunting for particular things via Quiltshops.com for a long time. If you’re not familiar, you can search the online inventory of more than 200 quilt shops through this search engine. When you’ve located your treasure, you are ordering directly from an individual store. I have never been disappointed in the service from any vendor I’ve used. They have all been efficient, speedy and friendly.

So it was that I checked Quiltshops.com for a particular Japanese fabric. I got a hit with Fabric Tales, a store I hadn’t purchased from before but one whose pages I had drooled over many times (the cutest sashiko kits!). I had been somewhat intimidated at the idea of purchasing directly from Japan. It had to be complicated, right? OH MY! So easy (too easy?). I chose express shipping and, poof, the fabric arrived at my door in less than five days! Express shipping was $11, based on the amount of my purchase. I thought it was very reasonable, given the rising cost of even domestic shipping. I highly recommend Fabric Tales. Tomomi was very helpful and made me very confident.

So, about those flying geese I’ve been working on? Others have recommended the method illustrated at PatchPieces. This is the speedy-quick method I used for mine. You get four geese at one time from this approach. It is very fast and gives very accurate flying geese that don’t need a lot of trimming (which I always goof up anyway).

Finally, here are some May Day flowers for you…even if the first one is in its rumpled, incomplete state. It’s the thought that counts, right?

VERY excited about this new offering from Piece O’ Cake!

That’s it for today. I’ll be in class tomorrow–yea! I do believe the class venue is right next door to a quilt store. You know, in case I don’t have enough fabric with me.

6 Comments »

  1. I have been searching for ages for fabric with books printed on it. It is impossible to do it online because all you get is books. If you come across any will you let me know. I have an old t-shirt which says ‘so many books, so little time’ and I want to make a quilt out of it.

  2. Lily Boot said

    So much in this one little post Amy! I can’t wait to check out the Japanese fabric store, I’m keen to check on the flying geese method because yours sure did look good, I agree that book looks scrumptious – I adore Piece ‘o’cake – and I’m green with envy that you are going to a Sue Spargo class – huh! And how could that fabric be too much – you just don’t know what you’re going to be inspired to do! Have a great day!

  3. pam said

    That looks like a fun pile. Can’t wait to see what it turns into.

  4. Anita said

    I dunno… you might need a couple more pieces of fabric. I’m predicting you might be short. 😉 How fun to spend a day with Sue Spargo!

  5. fissiett said

    a Sue Spargo class, that must be wonderful, never had this oppotunity
    have a nice day

    also waiting for the Piece O’Cake book, looks so beautiful, as all their projects

  6. Jill said

    Thanks for the fabric finder link. I cut a border too short 3 weeks ago and threw it in a bag until I could deal with the fact I didn’t have enough fabric for another unpieced 52 inch border. And I could not get anymore from my local quilt shop. When I found 2 different online stores that still had it I blessed you over and over again.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

