Mrs. Greenjeans, I’m not

I don’t think you understand. I can’t grow anything that requires my attention. If a plant can’t take care of itself, it is doomed in my care. Plants don’t like me. Never have. So I’m probably jinxing the harvest by even talking about this:

My grandpa always grew the best tomatoes. Frankly, he grew the best whatever. He always had a cutting of some odd thing or another that he was trying to grow. Oh, and his kohlrabi (or as we pronounced it, “call-a-rabbi”) were the BEST. He is a green thumb extraordinaire, in my humble opinion. I have tried off and on over the years to grow tomatoes because they have to be my favorite food (and pretty much anything created from them goes along for the ride) and I have such fond memories of home-grown tomatoes.

I know these babies aren’t ripe yet, but it is giving me immense pleasure to see them get even this far.

::sniffle:: Please excuse me, I’m feeling a little verklempt…

5 Comments »

  1. Lily Boot said

    They look beautiful! Tomatoes are so wonderfully hardy aren’t they – I love how one can “kill” ones tomato plant and then next season, there it is, wildly crawling through the garden and down the fence. And they smell so good – love the smell of their hairy green stems. Hope they turn a beautiful rich red for you! And what is verklempt?

  2. Stephanie said

    When I saw your post title I automatically thought of Captain Kangaroo and Mr. Greenjeans! Memories….well I grow tomatoes each year and this year the one plant is being eaten alive…looks like hornworm damage but I’ll be darned if I can find one.

  3. Jean C. said

    Yep, it’s been quite a long time since I’ve heard mention of Captain Kangaroo! And Mr. Greenjeans! Funny what we forget sometimes. I had a teacher in High School who reminded me of the Capt. ‘cept he had black hair!
    O.K. your tom’s look great… just keep from over loving them and you’ll do just fine! Water from the ground…. you know, irrigation not sprinkling and your tomato’s won’t have problems… I had to learn that the hard way!
    Hang in there. Keep dreaming of that sauce.

  4. Oh, man! Kohlrabi! That must’ve been a big Wells County thing. We never had it in our garden growing up, but my uncles down the road a piece from you always had it. I’ve never seen or heard of it since! And you’ve been away from Hoosier Land too long . . . . “them’s MATERS!”

  5. I meant to say “Them’s some real purdy maters!”

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

