Done and done

Shhh…don’t tell anyone that I have a big portion of my work done.

This is done:

Yes, you’ve seen in before. But it wasn’t done.

And I’ve been sitting at the computer ALL DANG DAY to do its paperwork.

Considering it’s an addendum of sorts to a pattern, one would wonder why it took so stinkin’ long. Oh, wait, I think there was math involved. That’ll do it!

I found during the quilting process that the natural friend of the solid black border is the sticky grooming tool:

I may have to make a little pocket on the back of this quilt and insert one of these into it. Or maybe just a little lanyard that I can clip to the groomer and let it hang off the quilt. No, I didn’t use a black batting. Ahh, who needs a black batting? It’s only the border that is black. Besides I used a light backing. I needed to use a regular batting. Sheesh. I believe a poly batting might have been a little better than the cotton one I used. That is speculative. What a mess. It was so awful that I dreaded working on it. You can see that I’m not done with the grooming… OK, so maybe I’m not done with this quilt. argh

Anyhoo, I’m going to have to plan a little fun for tomorrow since I got my important work done today!

But first, let me show you my new Swiss precision technology:

As close to a new Bernina as I’ll be getting any time in the near future.

10 Comments »

  1. They have mini lint rollers – I keep one in my purse – five cats you know. That would be cute attached. Great idea.

  2. pam said

    OHMYGOSH.. get a load of that Kitty cup. Seriously, that is amazing. I might have to get some of that precision because that’s as close as I’m getting as well. Although I went and watched and holy crap.. yeah, I want one of those new machines with its giant neck.

    Love the quilt. I think you do amazing work. Will this get kitted up at the shop? Did you do those nice looking graphic instructions? GENIUS.

  3. mariajhmom said

    That quilt is so sinkin’ awesome! I love the bright colors with the black mixed in. Brilliant!

  4. fabricpile said

    Yowza! That is so gorgeous, Mrs. S! I love the quilting especially! Please to teach me!

  5. Jennifer said

    I am a huge fan of black fabric and this quilt was well worth the aggrivation. Bravo! Love how graphical it is and the mixing of the blocks with the circles. Brilliant!

  6. Jackie said

    Amy, I am back from vacation and getting caught up on my blog reads…OMG you have been busy. Boy, I love this quilt!! Fantastic!! Okay, am I missing something though. Pam asks if this is going to be kitted up at the shop, do you own or work at a quilt shop??? Are you making this into a pattern, I certainly would be interested in either choice. As you know I think your work is phenomenal and love that you introduced me to that wedge ruler…love your blog, such inspiration!!

  7. Lily Boot said

    Ooooh – awesome quilting. Mum and I am sitting here in front of the heater, poring over your stitches, and mumsy is very inspired – she’s determined to give this free motion quilting a go this weekend! It has grown into a truly inspiring quilt Amy – and so very original – I love it!

  8. Stephanie said

    ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!! The quilting is fantastic. Love the lint rollers…handy dandy indeed. I hear ya on the math thing.

  9. MichelleB said

    Holy Smokes! I love love love that quilting! What a cool design. I might just have to (try to) copy that. The quilt is, of course, spectacular.

  10. samantha said

    I have the same Sigg in black… Love my Sigg.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

