Basket quilt

Kathie asked if I had a pic of the inspirational basket quilt. Here it is:

I believe it was made by Renee Carl and quilted by Crystal Smythe. The tag isn’t clear when I magnify the photo, but I know the quilter’s name is correct. Anyhoo, the quilt was started at a Gwen Marston retreat.

For the two blocks I showed yesterday as the start of mine, I referred to Collaborative Quilting for basket directions, but adapted so the basket bases are bigger. I ended up adding rectangles rather than triangles to the sides of the basket for the background.

Isn’t it a great quilt?!?!?!!!! It makes me smile.

10 Comments »

  1. Jackie said

    Wonderful quilt! I also have that book, Collaborative Quilting, it is one of my favorites. It is sooo inspirational and fun! I can’t wait to see your basket quilt.

  2. kathie said

    thats a great picture, thank you!
    so fun to see these quilts in different colors/fabrics!
    thanks for sharing it with us.
    I decided as soon as I finish the quilt I am working on now that mine is coming back out and I will finish it !
    thanks again
    Kathie

  3. pam said

    Love it!

  4. Oooooooh! What’s “in” all those baskets?

  5. Ooh I like that so much it must go on my list. I believe they could be turned into ladies handbags also which I might just do. So many quilt ideas – so little energy.

  6. It is absolutely delicious!

    n, np

  7. Jean C. said

    I have heard of Qwen Marston before. Do you know where she is from? I was just wondering.
    Thanks. The basket quilt is cute… next thing is to fill the baskets! Hmmmm?

  8. Stephanie said

    Thanks for sharing the basket quilt. As for the oval quilt…you have the best sense of color. Hmmm…curves, I love curves, don’t like to do curves.

  9. MichelleB said

    Cute basket quilt! Great inspiration.

  10. JudyC said

    Oh yes Gwen’s last retreat was baskets, I think !! WOW thanks for the picture it’s fabulous! As are your blocks too…can’t wait to see the completed quilt!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

