Oooooh, Christmas quilt, oooooh Christmas quilt

Back to the to do list today. Time to face some Christmas fabric. I wasn’t totally enthused, but this project is growing on me.

The pattern I’m using is called Oval Images by Olios. I believe the pattern was purchased at The Sampler in Minnesota, but I can’t find it on their site nor can I find these patterns anywhere else online.

I’ve been avoiding tackling this project because of the curves (and, happily, I was waiting for some more fabric to be delivered). I wasn’t entirely put off by sewing the curves. It was the cutting I wasn’t so much looking forward to. No acrylic templates? Whaaaaa? I guess I could have had some made, but I worked out a work-around instead. I decided to applique it.

Today was the day. After tracing the curve about 36 times:

D'oh!

D'oh!

I realized it would be easier to just hold the shape on the fabric and cut an approximate 1/4″ seam allowance:

Yea!

Yea!

Yes, I figured this out after tracing about 36 out of 48 shapes. That’s how I roll. Figure out the short cut after most of the work is done.

In any event, I alternated preparing the shapes for applique (with heat resistant template plastic and starch) with sewing the shape to the background (invisible machine applique).

I’m using a lot of Martha Negley’s and Jason Yenter’s latest Christmas fabrics.

Somehow, magically, I got all of the blocks done today and did a sample layout:

How did that happen so fast? Frankly, I think I pondered the process longer than it took to actually make the blocks. Don’t you hate that? Thinking it’s going to be a pain in the patoot and then it’s just fine and quick! I’ll probably re-arrange the blocks longer than it took to sew the blocks… But, hey, I’m excited now. I’m going to go on faith that this will all fit together in the end. Yes, good luck with that. Oooh, wouldn’t this be pretty with some gorgeous Kaffe fabrics?!?!

5 Comments »

  1. Dad-Gum, Super Woman! Can I send my kids to Camp Granny so *I* can get some stuff done?

  2. MichelleB said

    Wow, that just looks great! I just got a curve master (I think that’s the name) foot at the Long Beach Quilt Festival. I have some curved acrylic templates that I want to use it for. I’ll let you know how it works – when I get to using it. LOL Whenever THAT may be.

  3. Melissa said

    I LOVE that quilt. Christmasy but not over the top.

  4. JudyC said

    Oh my I was thinking what a great pattern for some Kaffe fabrics. Love the job you did and the way it turned out! Fantastic!

  5. samantha said

    wow, I get behind a few weeks and you are churing out the most amazing stuff, and so quickly. Wow.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

