How the Grinch stole a Christmas quilt idea

Regardless of the hot, sticky weather outside, it’s holiday time in here. Somehow, I got yesterday’s Christmas blocks arranged and finished the top. I did this while the rest of the family was occupied watching Wipeout. The dogs think it’s hilarous. I know, how could I pass this up and sew instead??

Today, I moved on to another Christmas quilt. I totally stole this block idea from Joanna.

Totally stolen idea! And, WordPress, you and me and your image uploader are getting along so well. Not.

Joanna’s quilt is just gorgeous! I love how dainty her blocks look, given that they are 6″. Mine are going to be a little beefier, coming in at a very round 8 3/8″. Yeah, how’d that happen? Math, don’t fail me now! I really thought the block would be great in these festive Christmas fabrics. I’m loving this so far. Have to decide how many blocks to make. Hmm…

In other festive news, a lovely new book arrived:

This is a fantastic new book. You can go visit the author’s website to see more of her work. Beautiful stuff!

10 Comments »

  1. Anita said

    OMG! The author of that book is the one and same of the artwork I saw in the art gallery in Sisters, OR that was tempting me to buy. Now I really must check out that book! Thanks for the tip!

  2. MichelleB said

    Looking good! Christmas – bah, humbug. Actually, I’m on your blog to look for quilting inspiration! I’m finally going to try my BSR! Woohoo. Hopefully this will work.

  3. Jackie said

    Okay, How much coffee do you drink??? You simply amaze me! Your projects are just gorgeous and inspiring. Now if I could have half your energy, maybe I could get a blog post up?!? Quilting?!?

  4. pam said

    Wow, I can’t freaking believe how much you get done. LOVE IT.

  5. marisa said

    That new book looks pretty cool. I’m off to check out the link, thanks! Oh and your block is quite cute too!

  6. Stephanie said

    I love seeing how you used your Michael Miller fabric. Great block choice!

  7. Darlene said

    LOve the new Christmas quilt. Thanks for sharing the new book – I love her style. 🙂

  8. Joanna said

    Oh My Goodness! I just got back from vacation in UT and thought I better catch up on my blog reading. Imagine when I open yours, and you are talking about ME??!!! I am so thrilled and totally humbled! I have been drolling over your blog and creations for a year now, and I can’t believe you copied ME? Crazy! But isn’t it a great block? I absolutely LOVE the fabrics you are using. Now using the polka dots in every centre – genius!

    I love the look of the book – just my style. Are you going to applique the border? I cannot wait to see what you do! So thank you so much – you have made my day. I am still picking my jaw up off the floor. Yes I am way too eaisly pleased lol!

  9. samantha said

    Ack, I love that quilt. I firmly believe christmas quilts should always have pink and lime green in them… And now I want to steal this one.

  10. This is the first I’ve heard of Tonye. Her book looks wonderful! Thanks for telling us about her! –Nedra @ Cactus Needle

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

