I learned something today (again)

This post is brought to you by the good people in the I Should Know Better Dept.

There was lots of rassum frassum around here today. I started quilting the snowflake quilt (after dragging my feet all of last week). This is the first machine quilting I’ve done since the machine returned from its spa visit. I was not a happy camper. Not. At. All. There’s an annoying sound coming from the machine, the stitch quality is not up to par. Crab crab crab. This does not make for the most pleasant of afternoons. Especially after you’ve had a perfectly delightful late morning watching In Bruges (lots of violence but laugh-out-loud funny) and making another small basket block:

SO, I buckled down to quilt. After trying different things (go down a needle size, try a different thread holder, dial down the tension, dial up the tension, ad nauseum), I pulled the thing out of the machine (again) and got out a practice sandwich. Do you know what I learned? I learned that my stitch quality is not good on the thinnest batting. I normally use Quilters Dream select cotton, but for some reason I chose the request poly this time (I think I was focused on making the quilt sandwich as pliable and thin as possible). Not a good choice for me. The pathetic part of this story is that I seem to recall making this discovery at some time in the not too distant past–BUT I FORGOT. Sheesh.

With that lesson re-confirmed, I will continue the quilting and try to keep a pleasant outlook while it’s going on. That might be hard for me. More like I will try not to grit my teeth too hard throughout the rest of the process. Because I’m not starting over with a thicker batting. Surely you jest.

Oh, here’s another funny movie recommendation: Eagle vs. Shark. Maybe I should watch it again while I quilt…

8 Comments »

  1. MichelleB said

    The movie sounds interesting. And no, I wouldn’t possibly think that you would start over. I will keep that in mind, however, since I have some poly batting that I want to use up.

  2. Nancy said

    These baskets are delicious. Delicious.

  3. I loved In Bruges. One of the most hysterical bloody films I have ever soon. Well probably the only one.

  4. Tricia Sagen said

    I was laughing out loud at the end of your post! I even had to call my children around and read it to them! I love sooo much that you FORGOT! Apparently I am not the only one with the memory of a guppy(as my youngest has told me)!
    Aren’t sewing machine problems the worst?! Well, not quite as bad as being gouged in the foot with a pin or needle that you dropped, but still… Especially when you are geared-up and ready to go…
    Don’t give up, though! We need more posts!
    Tricia

  5. Jackie said

    Amy, You crack me up! I hope that after all of that, your quilt came out nice. I can’t imagine that any of your quilts wouldn’t come out nice. I have to say that you are not alone. It is very frustrating when you realize that you have had the same revelation in the past and did not remember. It happens to me all the time! Yikes! Hazards of getting older. Love to see the finished product.

  6. Karen said

    Hope you have a better day tomorrow. 🙂

    The baskets are lovely.

  7. Lily Boot said

    Ahhh Amy – I cannot believe you are having trouble with your machine quilting – you are my machine quilting princess! But never mind – your baskets are GORGEOUS! I just love the variations – the little rounded one looks just like it is dressing the arm of one of those divine shirtwaisters from the ’50s. Perhaps a bridge party! Hope your teeth are still capable of chewing. 🙂

  8. I know what you are saying! If I don’t use the same brand thread and batting, my settings are way off!! It’s too much work to change now I have “worn my machine in” to its pattern.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

