You don’t want to catch this

Since early last week, the household has had the icky cold that’s going around third grade. Can’t remember the last time we were simultaneously sick. Still using up copious quantities of tissues around here. The teacher has already requested classroom tissue reinforcements.

Between cups of coffee (must avoid caffeine headache on top of cold headache…), I drank cups of tea and started a new sock:

Rather than call it my “sick” sock, I’m going to call it my debate sock. I have to take a break from TV sock knitting this week so I can sew down some bindings:

You know, it’s tricky to quilt with a runny nose. And requires an extra factor of time. I think we’re all on the road to full recovery…until the next virus hits.

While I’m thinking about it, run over and visit the new QuiltSoup blog and give Barbara Jones a warm welcome to the blogging world. She’s such a sweet, talented lady. I will miss her at Market (again, I say!). ::sniffle:: She’s a participant in the Lakehouse Doll Dress Blogathon. All of those darn cute dolly dresses popping up in the blog-o-sphere are driving me crazy! Visit Liberty Star to get the pattern.

7 Comments »

  1. Jackie said

    I am so sorry to hear you were all sick, but glad to hear you are on the mend. I love the sock, and of course both of the quilts. Just fun! Darn, you aren’t going to market. I’ll be there, I was hoping to get to meet some of my quilty blogging friends. Feel better, I am sending you tissues telepathically.

  2. Lily Boot said

    Oh dear – your poor noses! But don’t worry about the drippy bit – I’m sure it will add interest for the quilt forensic historians in centuries to come – it will be easier for them to attribute quilts to stitchers based on dna evidence – at least that’s how I console myself as I frantically snatch at another tissue!

  3. MichelleB said

    I hope you are feeling better! Your sock is adorable. As are your quilt and and table runner. The runner came out great. So festive!

  4. Hope you are all well almost immediately. I read Jane Brocket’s book over the weekend and now I must knit some socks. I have knitted pretty much everything else but never socks. I can’t wait. You don’t give lessons do you?

    Jane inspired me so much that I put together a quilt top yesterday in one sitting. That has never happened before. I will be posting a picture later.

    Drink lots of fluids and chicken soup.

  5. pam said

    Love the sock. You’re so talented. Sorry you’re sick. I remember those days. Do you get a flu shot? Probably saved my life during the elementary school years. I have asthma so I’m extra careful anyway, but they really helped me. That and that crazy borderline ocd handwashing.

    I’m sewing binding too, and watching a lot of tv.

  6. Someday I am going to learn how to knit cute socks like those! I admire your talent. And both those quilts are wonderful!

  7. Kelly said

    Thanks for the link to the doll quilt swap! I’m contemplating whether or not I should add another responsibility to my life….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

