Home away from home

We have been in Philadelphia since Sunday evening and, man-oh-man, have I seen a lot!

I have also eaten a lot and feasted with my eyes:

Naked Chocolate
Pink Rose Pastry Shop
Capogiro Gelato
Reading Terminal Market

I’ve visited many a crafty place:

Fabric Row
Sophie’s Yarns
Loop
Spool
Rosie’s Yarn Cellar

Tomorrow, I’ll get to see the Gee’s Bend quilts at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. I am excited.

Up until last week, this trip was unanticipated and conceptually a little unnerving. DH’s eye doctor sent him out here to see some wonderful doctors.  I have made myself at home and have had nothing but great experiences in this super city. I am a walker and this city is eminently walkable with interesting things at every turn.

We do miss our girl who is being looked after by some of her favorite people on the planet. All in all and given the circumstances, this detour to Philadelphia is going quite well. And we’re here while the Phillies are in the World Series–another great reason to celebrate.

Let’s see what happens tomorow!

7 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a great trip and hopefully a good one for your husband as well. I just got back from a tour of central lower Michigan. It was not as historic but there were quilt shops and antique shops and dollhouse shops. Also there were multiple cider mills (with donuts).

  2. Jan said

    You will LOVE the Gee’s Bend quilts! Do allow plenty of time to walk around and soak them all in, Amy.
    And all good wishes to your husband.

  3. MichelleB said

    Sounds like you’re having a good time. Are you going to show us your acquisitions? Hope the diagnosis for your DH is a good one. Sending good thoughts.

  4. rebecca said

    i’m so envious.i LOVE Philly. i visited Fabric Row and was overwhelmed. visited 3 yarn stores, too and that was a great treat. also ate well there, just like you! Gee’s Bend quilts, oh gee! how lucky you are to see those. PMA is fabulous, LOVE to visit there, try to eat in their restaurant, it’s the best. i had great duck there years ago. Do you think you might try the Rodin Musuem? It’s lovely as well.

  5. Stephanie said

    Sounds like you’ll make the most out of your unexpected visit. Wishing good results with the eye doctor. Sure hope you share the treasures you’re sure to purchase.

  6. Nanette said

    I’m from the philadelphia area. My daughter went to Bryn Mawr – a lovely wonderful college there. I sent her birthday cakes from the Pink Rose Pastry shop. Actually I’m from Reading (pronounced REDDING) where the terminal is named from. I’ve been to that market in Philly several times. It is so much fun! I hope you’ve had a cheese steak, italian sandwich and some tastykakes. If not – do it! And have some water ice. I’m so jealous.

  7. My daughter is going to Arcadia University in Glenside and next time we come out to Philedalphia I’ll need a week to go to all of these fun places. Thanks for the great pictures and links!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

