The Mrs. Schmenkman Fragments

or “A Lack of Focus,”

or “Short Attention Span Theatre,”

or “I Think I Should Finish SOMETHING.”

We’re not lacking in parts of projects over here.

For your enjoyment (or shock and horror), things I have worked on this week.

More of this:

pinks

Finished the “hand” part of some fingerless mitts. Too chicken to start the thumbs. This is the practice pair, the blue will be a teacher gift when I get over my fear of thumbs and move on:

thumbs1

Wanted to make another one of these:

gnomepaper

But played with some Kaffe-Liberty wedges instead (for the upcoming Ode to the Wedge):

wedgestart

Can’t waste the Liberty, so there is more to do (what these will ultimately become, I don’t know):

wedgeparts

Got sideswiped by a new pattern and some new fabric:

twinkleparts

Having a hard time deciding on color layout for this one as I have pink-orange and blue-green block parts.

However, this is generating leftovers that will need to be attended to (aka not lost…):

twinkleleftovers

But, then I wanted to make a Wildflower Pincushion this week too:

wildflowerpinc

We are to a hand sewing portion of that show.

And now I’ve become obsessed with this. Which got me to thinking (::danger::). So I got out a sketch book. Lots of BLANK sketch books around here. I am a very repressed sketcher. Clearly having more than just trouble with perspective here.

cake

I think my brain is going to explode if I don’t finish something soon.

13 Comments »

  1. MichelleB said

    LOL I love knowing that someone who accomplishes as much as you do also has “lack of focus” issues at times. Everything looks wonderful. Just go try those thumbs! I’m getting close to trying the toes of my socks. They look pretty crappy – but they are recognizable as socks! If I can do it, you can!

  2. Katy said

    the liberty/kaffe wedges are a bit darn fine, aren’t they? Don’t worry about wasting it – more is on the way…

    I have an obsession with the chair quilt too. Come to think of it, I have an obsession with everything Lucinda does.

    Oh, and don’t worry about thumbs, finish them off – et voila, wrist warmers 😉 (the imagingermonkey solution to anything a bit hard, cheat, skip it and move on – quickly)

  3. Andi said

    My head is spinning. So many gorgeous projects.
    Can’t wait to see all those finishes.
    Andi 🙂

  4. fabricpile said

    I thought I smelled something smoking! Wow! Wish I could sit around with you more and we could plow through some soft stuff together–and maybe some hard stuff while we’re at it. But there’s no time to be constructive when there’s room destruction to be done! That sledge hammer isn’t going to lift itself, ya know!

  5. Melissa said

    I LOVE all of your projects. My house is looking quite the same. Over my holidays I’m only allowed to finish things – no new projects… well maybe except for one…

  6. Jackie said

    Oh my… talk about project overload! But all at one time? Goodness. I love everything that you are working on especially the wedges. They are definitely a fav.

  7. JudyC said

    Hey! A fellow sufferer of “flitter syndrome”. I flit from one thing to the next with no reason…move, move, move! But somehow in the end it all gets worked out! Love them all!

  8. You sound as if you think it is a bad thing to have so many projects going on. I think it is fabulous. It is more like play that way. Whatever grabs your attention on a given day you work on and when you tire there is always something waiting. I’d say your playroom is full of toys.

  9. Nanette said

    I don’t know what it is about us quilters but this scene plays out at my house too. Love the wedges!

  10. Tricia said

    You are amazing! I mean that! I could not get myself to do ANYTHING crafty this entire week…and I have 3 quilts “due” at the beginning of January!
    Thanks for showing all those great pictures…if those don’t inspire me, nothing will!
    Have a great day!
    Tricia

  11. Hey ! Thanks for linking with my chair quilt ! So happy that you’re liking that one :0)
    and thanks to Katy for the lovely comment…
    Loving those little wedges, makes me want to pull out my teeny scraps and play ~

  12. Karen said

    Busy, busy and everything looks wonderful!

  13. krommama said

    yay yay yay – wedges!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

