It’ll end in tears

I just like saying that. I was thinking of it today as I was chopping the second of two large onions with tears streaming down my face. For some reason, other than the need to eat, I have been cooking a lot of new things lately. I’m either a) bored with what we regularly eat or b) unable to remember what kinds of things we ate last winter. And it’s kind of liking wanting new fabric, I guess. I certainly HAVE fabric and recipes, but they aren’t nearly as exciting as NEW fabric and recipes.

Of course, I’m often too lazy to work through the vast collection of recipes in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. That book loses me at the first cross-referenced component every time. Much easier to hunt up one start to finish recipe online.

Mind if I share some of our recent favorites (some subset of us likes some recipes more than others)? OK.

Nigella’s Butternut Squash with Pecans and Blue Cheese
Port Wine Blue Cheese Ball (we are fortunate to have a local meadery, so I subbed mead for port)
Mario’s Marinated Butternut Squash (YUM!)
Roasted Edamame Salad
Polenta Casserole with Fontina and Tomato Sauce
Lemon-Rosemary Cookies (I subbed dried lavender for the rosemary)
Potato Chickpea Curry (we’re having this tonight)
Carmelized Onion Dip
Spicy Potato Tacos

Do you know what this means? This means I have to keep up my vigorous walking program all winter long is what this means. But when I break my hip after I slip on some ice on a frozen sidewalk, I’m gonna be in trouble and need new pants!

Still no finishing of any quilting projects. I’m in plugging along mode.

Finished all of the Twinkle blocks today:

twinkle

I am not in love with this. Still working on the layout. It is decidedly large. Too large to lay out on the bed. If I don’t love it, it might end up smaller than the pattern indicates. I don’t know. It’s just kind of boring. Maybe I will like it better if I play some more with where the darks and lights land. You know how that game goes–on and on. Move one block and then two other blocks with the same fabrics are close to each other. Move that block back and move another one. And then another two of the same fabrics are next to each other. We shall see.

This just in from the Shoulda Bought More Dept.:

greenfab

Heavy weight Michael Miller. Half a yard? What was I thinking?

7 Comments »

  1. MichelleB said

    Those look like some yummy recipes! How were they? Potato Chickpea Curry sounds great! and I know what you mean about a vigorous walking program. I’m trying real hard to stay on mine.

    That cracked me up about the layout – I play that same game all the time. I try to have my girls help me, but inevitably, something will be out of whack.

    I’m supposed to be quilting right now, and I need to get back to it. This was just my quick break away from the sewing machine. So far it’s not going as fast as I want it to – darn it.

  2. Stephanie said

    I’ll be clicking on those recipes. I love recipes and have a bookshelf full of cookbooks and a box full of loose recipes AND a recipe box filled with index cards. Organized…well sort of and sort of not! I think your quilt is very striking.

    I have the dreaded treadmill. I’d rather be outdoors but I’ll just turn on reruns of Law & Order and watch Lennie catch the bad guys.

    Happy Holidays!

  3. krommama said

    some of those recipes look yummy! and i have played that “move that piece here” game. i take pictures along the way just in case i need to go back.

  4. fabricpile said

    Yum. Drooling again, as usual (gotta do something about that!) That squash is on my menu for the weekend!

    I LOVE the Twinkle! Walk away and let Jingle lay it out! See what happens. Works for me sometimes (or used to, when I actually finished things!) And how in bloody heck did I miss that Michael Miller? How old is it? I got an adrenaline rush when I saw it (that’s a good thing, right?! Frankly, it has me a little bit scared how my “Must. Acquire.” hormones kicked in.)

  5. The Sharper The Knife The Less You Cry is a book I reviewed awhile back and the lesson is that if your knife is really really sharp it will cut through the cells of the onion rather than press on them. When you press on the onion cells with a dull knife the oil is released and that is what makes you cry.

  6. Lily boot said

    I do that – walk into the kitchen and think what could I possibly cook now because I have no memory of cooking anything worth cooking. And as for not buying enough fabric – well that’s a given – of course you didn’t buy enough! Yes sorting out block placement is like plaing those movable picture puzzles as a child – the more you try the more you mess up what looked gins to begin with 🙂

  7. Lily boot said

    No I’m not tipsy – just typing on that silly little iPhone thing – the blocks were supposed to be fine not related to gin!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

