What I did on my winter break

So, Christmas was nice. We did some nerve-wracking driving out of snow and into ice. Well, I didn’t do the driving. I did nervous but very supportive car-knitting. See:

noroyum

In my return to knitting, I’ve been doing the easily picked up and put-downable things. Something like this scarf might, however, get kind of tedious (i.e., not for those short of attention span). BUT if you pick a yarn specially made for the short attention span, well, things keep happening. This is made up of two colorways of Noro Silk Garden.

Fun things happen like this:

noro1

Followed by a section of this:

noro2

Endless fun, but I probably don’t need to tell you that. We are easily amused over here.

That is, until the yarn runs out! AIIIIIIIeeeeeeeeeeeeegh.

What have I learned in years of packing for car trips? Stop over-packing the handwork supplies already. Most of them don’t even get unpacked until they arrive back home. So, what did I do? I only took half the yarn with me. And then I ran out. With about two days left in the trip.

You can see that I survived.

I’ve been keeping busy at the sewing machine ever since I returned home. With the Amy Butler solids–what a soothing bunch of colors. With some Amy Butler prints. I’ll have to find a somewhat sunny day for pics of these. And with some of these friends:

yoyos

I also decided it was the best time of the year to have a cold. Hey, why not? We’re stocked up on Zicam and Airborne, go for it. So, one of the days, I stayed in my pajamas, sewed and watched four movies. Good for what ails you.

Here’s hoping you had wonderful holidays with family and friends! Happy New Year!

10 Comments »

  1. Sounds like everyone got sick over the holiday’s as I read other’s blogs. Some of my family too. Your knitting looks fun.

  2. Anita said

    Love your yo yo’s! I’ve been itching to make a few more. Hope you kick that cold right out the door. Even if staying in your pajamas and watching 4 movies makes for a nice, relaxing day.

  3. belinda said

    OH WOW…OH WOW…Love the knitting yarn and stuff and things….and whatcha gonna do with those yo-yos…?? huh…??

  4. Stephanie said

    Yep, hubby got sick right after Christmas Day and now daughter, leaving to go back to college tomorrow, came down sick. And it’s the perfect time for computers to get sick too!

    Beautiful scarf. Love the yo yos. I just bought a yo yo maker. Now maybe mine will be round.

  5. MichelleB said

    I’ve been seeing those Noro silk scarves, and am dying to make one! Maybe you can give me some hints. When I get the yarn, that is! Love the yo-yos. I hope that you’re feeling better.

  6. Jackie said

    I love what you were able to accomplish. Just like you I also got sick right before Christmas. I did a lot of laying around, unlike you didn’t get much accomplish. I hope you are having a wonderful New Year and glad you are feeling better. I love the Yo-Yo’s!

  7. Happy return. I have not been interested in Amy Butler’s fabrics but seeing them as yoyos makes me change my mind.

    So sorry you are sick but airborne has been shown to be bogus. I think chicken soup is still prescribed.

    Get better. Even in sickness you accomplish thousands times more than I do.

  8. Lily Boot said

    Oh I’m so glad to see that you survived the dreadful Christmas drive! I was thinking about you and your family over Christmas and sending non-skiddy wishes! The scarf is gorgeous – and exactly my kind of knitting – I too suffer from the “gosh, haven’t we done a bit too much of this already” syndrome! And yo-yos – ooooooh Amy’s making yo-yos 🙂 What are you going to do with them? Lovely to have you back Miss Amy!

  9. Karen said

    I would love that scarf around my neck! The yo-yo’s are so pretty. Santa gave me a Clover yo-yo maker for Christmas. I have to test it out.

  10. Nanette said

    These yo yos look like candy.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

