Too cool for school

Yep, I said it. The worst snow day pun ever. Except that it wasn’t a snow day. It was a too-cold for school day. Of course, I was showered and dressed before I discovered that school was cancelled. I gained a day with my child but lost an entire morning in the process. How does this happen? Well, I did go back to bed–fully clothed–for a while and we did make a batch of marshmallows (have you experienced this monumental hazardous clean-up?). And then there was instruction in the fine art of the Clover yo-yo maker. Then yo-yos were made while the Kit Kittredge movie played:

yoyokid

By the way–before I forget–the answer to the yes or no question, “do you want grape tomatoes with lunch?” is not “six.” Some of the morning fell out of my ear just then.

While the Kit movie played, I finally made my way to the sewing room to play with some of this:

birdy

Appropriately named Snow Flower. Sounds better than Frigid Wind Chill Flower. This is a panel, by the way–I didn’t applique this cute thing.

9 Comments »

  1. Stephanie said

    You have the best fabrics and you HAVE the things I would LIKE…sounds so much better than “want” or “need”. I also have that yo yo maker. Perhaps I’ll unearth it. Have fun playing with your fabric.

  2. Jackie said

    Cold here too! -8 this morning, the difference, my kids went to school. Although, in the past it has happened that it was “too cool for school”. Don’t you just love the yo-yo maker? So easy and fun! That panel is too die for, love it. I thought you appliqued it. You should have lied we would have never known.

  3. MichelleB said

    My goodness. That bird is adorable! You kill me with all of your cute stuff. I still need to get a yo-yo maker. Although, while at JoAnns yesterday, I did purchase a certain Olfa circle cutter that someone made INCREDIBLY cute circles with. Sheesh.

  4. Katy said

    grape tomatoes? They’re the little ones, right? We call them cherry tomatoes. There’s an interesting fact for you.

    I did gasp (as is usual for my visits here) when I saw the bird, but I am VERY pleased it’s a panel…because now you’re going to tell me who it’s by and I can go buy some. Hoorah.

  5. Nedra- Cactus Needle said

    I guess now is not the time to tell you it’s a balmy 60 degrees right now in St.George and Mr. Cactus and I have been out working in our yard….no now is not a good time to share that information is it?
    You always make such cute stuff. I love the bird.

  6. We have been sleeping in front of the fire the last couple of days. It is too cold to go out and do anything.

  7. Anita said

    I’m SO glad I don’t live anywhere near the sub-zero weather! It makes me cold just thinking about it. Still, it’s a good excuse to stay in and sew! Looks like you’ve been making the most of it… marshmallows and yo yo’s… awesome.

  8. Nanette said

    What a darling panel! Love it. I thought it was cold here but you’ve got us way beat!

  9. belinda said

    I LOVE the cute bird panel….it just makes me feel happy looking at it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

