Out to sea

Ahoy, matey. I am adrift in curved piecing with Tula Pink’s Neptune.

neptune

Mind you, the free pattern at Moda’s web site calls for machine applique. I’ve charted a different course and am piecing a variation using Elisa’s Backporch Rainbow Block template.

It’s going swimmingly. I’m not minding the curves at all. I recalled a Bernina video on curved piecing (scroll down to Perfect 1/4″ No-pins Curved Piecing) (I am using a few pins however…) and also recalled that I have a #57 patchwork foot with a little guide attached. And it was anchors aweigh! Now I can’t stop myself from making these blocks.

Me? Enjoying curved piecing? When my classic avoidance technique has always been to steer the ship toward machine applique in these situations?

I must have the bends.

15 Comments »

  1. Michelle said

    Oh I’m dying…love the Neptune line, but those blocks are yummy! Now I need to play with my Neptune layer cake…and order some yardage!

  2. pam said

    Wow, those curves are wonderful. And so matchy perfect. I always admire your work all filled with patience and good piecing.

  3. Jackie said

    Curves are so fun! I actually enjoy them, they bring a certain challenge. Right now I am also working on curves, a drunkard’s path, and previously my serpentine in my post “just playin”. Then before that, my Strips and Curves from Louisa Smith’s class, also in a post. Next I am onto a class with Judy Niemeyer, who I love and have taken classes with before. This will of course combine two of my favorites paper piecing and curves….. oooooo! Yours looks very beautiful and professional and I think I would have also chosen to piece rather than machine applique.

  4. Mimi said

    Wow…just WOW!!

    So cool.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

  5. MichelleB said

    They look great! I have a couple of Elisa’s templates. I got the 7″ and 3 1/2″ curved ones. I was tempted with the one that you have. I got them because they were stitching them up at a quilt show and the curves looked so easy to sew. I have to say, I don’t have many problems getting them sewn. And I only use 3 pins per curve. Plus I have those fancy tweezers, which I really like. Off to look at the Bernina video!

  6. MichelleB said

    Just me yammering, again. That was actually how I was doing the curved piecing! But I did use a couple of pins, too. I’ll have to try the tip on changing the plate. Thanks for the link.

  7. lil said

    wow, just love that line too (especially all the blacks) and curves, yep, done some without too many problems
    have to check that video, maybe I still can have some advice

  8. Sarah said

    Didja know you dont need pins for curved piecing if you use tweezers to guide the top piece? Just a tip for players.. give it go!

  9. Very pretty! I’ve been thinking of trying some curved piecing…you may have inspired me.

  10. Lily Boot said

    They are LOVELY! I too have curve avoidance – bought hundreds of dollars worth of fabric last October to make a curved quilt – and it’s still sitting on the chest of drawers, lonesome and dusty. Maybe I should admit defeat – I have neither a Bernina, nifty foot or anchor (!) – and machine piece them. LOVE your fabric Miss Amy.

  11. belinda said

    OK…I want to do some of these too!!!

  12. Elisa said

    The blocks look great! Thanks for posting a link to my site. I also have a few tutorials on cutting and sewing on my blog. Using pins is A-OK.
    I can’t wait to see your completed quilt!

  13. Kathy said

    I love the curves and the colours.

  14. Auntie Pami said

    Aren’t Elisa’s templates wonderful? I made 80 of the Drunkard’s Path (large ones) during the Oscars and only have a few to unpick–obviousily I wasn’t paying attention. Good tweezers help. So, I thought to myself, what’s the big deal with curves–and, lo and behold I broke out my Marti Michell Double Wedding Ring templates (which I’ve been afraid to try) and peasy-easy. I really like the Neptune rings–

  15. Nanette said

    I need to work on curved piecing. Your work is very good. It looks so perfect.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

