Spring quilt-athon

I can only imagine that I’m finally shaking off winter. Otherwise, I don’t know what has gotten into me this week–aside from way too much coffee (and a few too many jelly beans). Just ask the dogs. They have eaten late (LATE, I tell you) several times this week because I can’t seem to stop sewing. This lateness does not go unnoticed because these dogs can tell time and they start bugging me for supper promptly at 3 pm (when they don’t get fed until 5 pm). I can’t seem to stop sewing.

Took me longer to pick the flower and flower center fabric than it did to sew up the rest of this top:

glad

This is Glad All Over from Abbey Lane Quilts. It was fun and fast.

It’s ready to quilt, and I’ve moved on to some festive spring-y florals. I guess I have spring fever.

Speaking of which, look at what was in the mailbox today:

basketmed

::sigh::

And spring ON a bag–a new Steve Lovi tote over at Glorious Color:

flowerbag

I do believe this will be perfect for toting soggy swim togs after someone’s swim class tonight. Thanks, Liza! This bag puts my one blooming daffodil and one grape hyacinth to shame. I’ll have to keep looking at the bag until the out of doors fully cooperates but I do believe I’ve moved on from winter.

Oh, if you get a chance, go say hi to Cathy over at Cabbage Quilts. She is a big Westminster fan and has just set up her new blog where she promises to share quilt-y goodness.

Happy spring!

15 Comments »

  1. Stephanie said

    Love Glad All Over. And do I notice Wonderland backkground fabric??? I just used that for the lining in my new bag. :o) Yipes you better get some more bags of jelly beans to get you through the making of the flower medallion quilt. Stunning. Thanks for the link to Cabbage Quilts. I’ll be following along.

  2. Nedra- Cactus Needle said

    Thanks for telling us about Cathy’s new site. I’ve now got her on my sidebar. You know I love anything Kaffe. Your new quilt is wonderful!

  3. Nanette said

    Those dogs should learn to cut out fabric while they wait! This is wonderful Amy. I’ve been wanting to make one of these quilts with scale like this. Lovely.

  4. Janet said

    Wow, the colours are really neat in the quilt. Thanks for the link to Cathy, I know I’m going to love her blog.

  5. Terri said

    Your Glad All Over fabric choices are wonderful, especially your center fabric!

  6. pam said

    That cracks me up, my dogs tell time as well, they start at 4:40 for their 6pm feeding.

    Love your quilt!!!

  7. Jacoline said

    Hi, Thanks for the comment that you gave me on “the last piece ” blog. I made the quilt and I’m very happy with it.

  8. MichelleB said

    Glad All Over is wonderful! Have you done any of the Kim McLean quilts? Have you shown us? I see that Cathy has one started and it looks great.

    Those darn dogs! Mine start asking for food at 3 for their 5p.m. feeding, too.

  9. Jackie said

    So you did break down and purchase that gorgeous pattern. Knowing you and your work it will be in progress immediately and will be absolutely stunning!!

  10. You are the goddess of Rick-Rack!

  11. Problem is winter is not shaking us off. I saw the forecast. It is supposed to snow next week for several days. So nice to live in Michigan.

  12. V said

    So many spring goodies! your top looks great! I used to live in Duluth, MN so I know what the crazy weather is like. stay warm! think spring!

  13. aneela said

    Wow! what do you mean your quilt was fast???!!! Looks like a lot of work to me. Can’t wait to see your version of the flower basket medallion!

  14. Iva said

    Kansas weather isn’t much better, so I’m headin’ south for a few days! Your quilt is adorable!!!

  15. kim mclean said

    Hi Amy,

    Many thanks for buying my applique pattern, much appreciated! Have enjoyed reading your blog, love to see your applique quilts! How do you get to do so many things in a day? You have done the most amazing projects!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

