That’s so sad

Oh my! I’m glad to know I’m not alone in my quilting boo-boos. Some of your stories were so sad! Thank you for sharing! It was really tough to pick a winner. I do know that I don’t want to sit next to Kerry during a quilting class. I could totally relate to Brooke buying the same fabric twice and still not being able to match her project!  Mary cracked me up because her mishap sounded just like something I would do–all prepped for her retreat and then forgot a main ingredient–her jelly roll! I must say that Barb had a very hard time getting her quilt backing sized right and then she had to give in and put a seam down the middle–just what the longarm quilter preferred NOT to have. Instead of doing that, I usually sew the wrong lengths of backing together–I guess I mean I start to sew the length to the width and then wonder what happened when I get to the end of one of the pieces. D’oh!

The winner, by a quarter inch seam, is Amanda who had a four-patch turned wrong in her Jacob’s ladder, had it quilted and then appliqued a four-patch over the offending four-patch, but the “new” four-patch was also oriented wrong.

Really, thanks to everyone who played along–it was fun. Thanks for the birthday wishes. The cake was/is delicious.

Oh, and I did get to work on the Savannah Satchel. Of course, I went straight for that elephant and then found my piece of fuschia velvet for his little ear. Awwwwwww. Well, he still needs his ear, but at least I found the fabric.

elephantunderway

For those here in the U.S., have a safe Memorial Day holiday!

14 Comments »

  1. fabricpile said

    Sweet little elephant! Can’t wait to see the satchel all made up!

  2. Sarah said

    Love him! I must get going on mine today, can’t have you showing me up. I do’t have any fuschia velvet though, so maybe blue?

  3. Katy said

    how’d I miss your birthday? I hope you had a great time!

    As for my quilting disasters – I’m yet to have something, anything, turn out perfectly. Disasters are part of the fun fun fun….or at least that’s what I tell myself. I did much the same as Amanda in a quilt I made for a friend…it was a quilt as you go, nothing too hard, just simple strips cut into squares. I still managed to make one square an inch too small, and thought I’d wing it when it was all sewn together by just adding a bit of new fabric on the end…but not only did I sew it upside down it was wrong side up too. Oh well.

  4. Stephanie said

    I want to visit your fabric stash. :o)

  5. betsy said

    cute stories. Congratulations to the winner.

  6. Kim said

    Lovin’ the elephant!!! Can’t wait to see it all put together. Have a great weekend yourself! Forecast is for 70s and chance of rain most of the weekend…and I’m okay with that! Sewing time!! :o)

  7. valerie said

    The elephant is so sweet. I have a lot of catching up to do on your last few posts. Happy belated birthday!

  8. Juliann said

    Love your elephant. I have made one for a quilt I am working on from Sue’s folk art dreams CD. Fun stuff

  9. jmbmommy said

    Happy Birthday!!! That elephant looks like such a cute little baby, don’t you just LOVE wool applique? The dots are great.

  10. Nedra- Cactus Needle said

    The elephant is darling. I have stashes of hand dyed wools, and I’m always looking for projects to use them for.
    and such sad quilting stories!

  11. Jackie said

    Congrats to Amanda! Great to read all the stories and not feel that you are the only one making mistakes. Love the elephant, remember they never forget! Have a terrific Memorial Day weekend!

  12. Congratulations to Amanda on her wonderful win! The elephant is going to be soooooo cute!

  13. Amanda said

    Thank you! I’m so excited!!! I, too, enjoyed reading everyone’s stories. I will e-mail you my address! Did I say I’m excited???!!!

    I love your elephant.

  14. Jean C. said

    Looks like you had a ton… (yes, pun intended!) of fun at the show! And although you had to carry your bag, I doubt that it weighed quite that much.
    Hmmmm…. my guess is 10 pounds 8 ounces! Hope your having fun on your project…. get this one done and onto the next fun!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

