What’s in the bag?

I couldn’t resist the allure of the shirt stripey goodness Anita has been inviting us to join.

So, I did a little shirt thrifting today:

bago

There were MANY choices in the blue/white colorway! I made a few selections:

shirts

I think I might need to take a little trip back and get a couple more “darker” blues. My favorite shirt came from a local church rummage for 50 cents — my kind of pricing!

fave

Love the wider stripes and the grey! The shirts are in the dryer. I’d better get to prepping if I want to keep up with Anita!

While we were at the rummage sale, we scored a big ice cream bucket full of zippers:

zippers

Yes, I’m sure I have previously thrifted zippers, however, did you get a load of the big shiny metal teeth?

zipperteeth

Lots of shiny metal teeth for some of these:

zipper critters

Aha! For some reason, I’m thinking shiny metal teeth is the way to go with these.

The ice cream bucket cracked me up. Check out the flavor:

kuku

Please note that the “Blue Moon” flavor is artificial…

Adding to the entertainment, the local library came through with the second book in the Dr. Siri Paiboun mystery series as highly recommended by dear Lily:

cotterill

So, I borrowed the second book yesterday and found the first book today at Borders. Hmm, I’d better start the first one and hurry up so I don’t have to renew the second one.  I’m sure this won’t be a problem because Lily says that reading these is like eating potato chips, in a manner of speaking. I am already most amused!

16 Comments »

  1. Lisa A said

    Don’t you just love Indygo Junction patterns? They are having a huge yardsale here at my place of work today. I am headed down there now. Imagine I won’t find anything as fun as your purchases.

  2. Anxious to see your striped shirt creations!

  3. MichelleB said

    I am loving those shirts! DH has no striped shirts in his collection for me to pilfer, so I might have to go get me some from a thrift store.

    I saw those zipper critter patterns – but didn’t snag me one. I can hardly wait to see one of yours!

    Let me know how you like the books. I can always use a good one to read – although I’m reading The 19th Wife right now and really enjoying it.

  4. Cathy said

    Great shirty, zippery find!!! I LOVE that Kaffe quilt (thanks for the link to Anita), and will be watching you make this one up with great interest. Those zipper critter’s look interesting. I haven’t come across Colin Cotterill yet (and me working in a library!!!), will have to look for those books. xo

  5. Stephanie said

    I love a good book review. Great shirts…really like the wide stripes. Oh metal teeth…Mom sent me a bag full, still in the packaging. Now to get over my fear of zippers. For now I’m displaying them in my crystal cookie jar.

  6. Cyndi said

    Now what does a blue moon taste like exactly? 🙂

  7. Katy said

    I can’t say I have ever tasted blue moon. Sounds interesting though.
    I love metal zippers, they are proper zippers – none of that harmless plastic, if you catch yourself on a metal one, you know about it.

  8. Lorraine said

    Hmmmmm. ….who would have thought the blue moon flavour was artificial!! yikes…sounds “interesting”……..!! Love the zipper find and looking forward to seeing what you do with the striped shirts……love the Indygo Junction pattern…..!!

  9. Nancy-Rose said

    I’ve joined in on the challenge too! I started sewing blocks yesterday, and they are FUN! Photos are on my blog.

    Nancy

  10. Amy said

    thrifted/outgrown/stained/worn-out shirts are my most favorite quilt materials of all – I can’t wait to see what you do with yours!

  11. Sarah said

    Thanks god, nothing so fattening as a bona fide blue moon, dontcha know….
    I have a BIG BIG bag full of shirting fabrics I got from my neighbour who mas a shit making business. I may have to check all of this shirting activity out!

  12. Martha said

    Sarah’s comment about her neighbor who’s in the “shit making business” really cracked me up –it’s good to start the day with a laugh.

    I love your shirts. Sometimes it’s hard to find a large assortment of shirting fabrics for a project, so I often turn to thrift stores — sometimes I find nice pastel solid shirts as well.

  13. AnnieO said

    I’m tempted by the shirts but have so far resisted starting another type of collecting! Can’t wait to see what you’re up to with them…

    Love the zipper faced toys, what a great use for all those lonely zippers in everyone’s sewing boxes.

    So, what do you think blue moon tastes like? I’m imagining that hideous blue slurpee stuff from 7-11!

  14. I’m loving the shirts projects. I must admit that quite a few of my husbands shirts have found their way into my quilts over the years. I’ll try and look ot a photo. I love the Indygo Juntion pattern…. you will be busy now you have those zips. I am off to the post office now, and I am interested to see your latest reading matter. I like detctive type novels, so I shall have to go via Waterstones and see if they have them!

  15. Lucy said

    I must have been living under a rock. This is the first visit for me to your blog and I have to keep checking to see if I am breathing. Thank you for the exposure to so much loveliness. I am so inspired to lock myself in the sewingroom and never come out again!

  16. lily boot said

    Glad to see you’re enjoying the books! I’m onto the fourth one now – you can look forward to Cuban black magic, Dtui being wooed by a robotic comrade, bewitched puppets … there is so much wonderful detail! Those zippers are so inspiring! I love metal teeth zippers – As Katy said, they’re the real thing 🙂 And that pattern is gorgeous – don’t show Abby – my to do list is too long already!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

