Perfect timing

First day of fall, eh?

Yes.

And the last thing I want hanging off me today is this shawl I just finished knitting.

daybreak

It’s the first shawl I’ve ever finished. As September started to cool off, I was thinking, hmm, I could almost get this finished in time for the start of fall. And, gee, wouldn’t it be nice to have this around my shoulders on a cool, damp morning at the bus stop.

Yes, yes, it would.

dayb2

Instead, we have had a few hot, sticky, damp mornings at the bus stop.

dayb3

No wool for me at the moment, thank you VERY much.

dayb4

Oh well. Soon enough I’m sure that this little thing won’t help me keep nearly warm enough. In the meantime, the air conditioning just kicked on.

Should anyone be interested, this is the Daybreak shawl from Westknits. It was a blast to knit!

12 Comments »

  1. Stephanie said

    Sticky and damp here too! Ick. Love your new shawl–now for the perfect orange bag.

  2. Cathy said

    Oh wow Amy, this is beautiful, such a pity you don’t have cool mornings yet to wear it!! Thanks for the link, might have to think about one for next year now we are coming into summer over here! xo

  3. The colors of yarn that are being produced now are so beautiful. The oranges and rusts really do look like fall.

  4. You will enjoy that shawl yet! Very pretty!

  5. MichelleB said

    I love it! Love the yarn, too. It’s cool here today, but they keep promising hot weather (cool being the low 70’s).

  6. lisa said

    Beautiful shawl! I love the colors you used.

  7. Sarah said

    Bea-ooo-tiful. Wish I could knit. Very fall colors too, you will blend 🙂

  8. Jackie said

    What a beautiful shawl. You are multi faceted and multi talented lady! This will be truly lovely when you do wear it!

  9. lily boot said

    oh no! you’ll be amazed at how snuggly it will be! It must be an insulation thing. And your colours are GORGEOUS! I love it. I’m off to check out the pattern – I’m shawless again. Not that I need one now, but things are getting more and more exciting here dear Amy. 🙂

  10. Anne said

    Just lovely! Thanks for the link!

  11. Anne said

    I am back again to say that I had to blog about you – your shawl made me so happy. And I must confess that I borrowed a picture to tell the story. So instead of permission I am asking forgiveness. Thank you for ionspiring me and go see yourself on my blog.

  12. Martha said

    Such rich fall colors — I love it! There are going to be plenty of days where this shawl is going to feel so cozy and warm. Our Pacific NW winters are pretty wet for a nice wool shawl, but I think I would just turn down the heat and wear it in the house.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

