I’m so lucky!

Doll Quilt Swap 7 is beginning to wrap up. Ahhh, what fun! This is the third round in which I’ve participated. Honestly, you really have to go look at the Flickr group page. The work coming out of the swaps never ceases to amaze — the creativity blows my mind every time!

I received my DQS7 quilt yesterday and had to pinch myself. Take a look:

DQS7rec

My quilt was made by the extremely-talented Hayley over at Purplelulabell.

How lucky am I? I love the fabrics, the applique, the trapunto (those flowers are trapunto-ed, people), the quilting. Love it, love it, love it! See, I need to pinch myself again.

Hayley went through my stash (!) and found out I didn’t have these Amy Butler fabrics, so she sent them along too:

abfq

I am honored to have received this beautiful quilt from Hayley! Thanks so much! Thanks, too, to the lovely organizers of the doll quilt swap and my swap mama Upstatelisa! Sounds like the next round of the doll quilt swap won’t be until after the new year. I can’t wait!

My quilt went off to Bulgaria to live. I can show you a tiny bit for now. It has been received by its lovely new owner, but, um, I forgot to take a picture of the finished quilt. Yes, I’m the one with all the smarts.

dqs7peek

dqs7back

Oh, before I forget… did you know about this? And you didn’t tell me?!?!????

20 Comments »

  1. pam said

    The quilt is really lovely. I love all the innovative work out there. The fabrics, the designs, and ohmygosh I love the quilting.

  2. MichelleB said

    That quilt is fantastic! You are so lucky.

    Yes, I did know about THAT. I was going to post it on my blog, but, well, we know how infrequently I blog. I should have let you know immediately (hangs her head in shame).

  3. Barb said

    What a beautiful quilt – you are lucky.

  4. Doris said

    Ack! I didn’t know and it’s day 41 already?!?

    Yes, you are one lucky gal…

  5. Lorraine said

    DQ is gorgeous & thanks for the quilting link …. will be having a good look at that one !!

  6. Stephanie said

    I so want to do the doll quilt swap! I’ve seen such amazing little quilts. LOVE what you received and I know I’d LOVE what you sent.

    Yep, I’ve seen that site linked on two blogs already. I’ve got it bookmarked.

  7. poppyprint said

    I hope to catch a ride on the Doll Quilt Swap train in the new year now that I’ve got my own blog (come visit sometime!). You scored big-time with that gorgeous quilt and from what I can see, the one you sent off is equally gorgeous. Love your unabashed addiction to Kaffe…I may use his pink paperweights in my mystery quilt….

  8. Lisa A said

    Thanks SO MUCH for the free-motion design site! I’m going to be spending a lot of time watching videos.
    Hope your Bulgarian friend posts a pic of your doll quilt. I want to see the rest of it! You and your ric-rac… 🙂

  9. Janet said

    You might have been too busy being creative to notice or we assumed you knew, isn’t it a great site! Your doll quilt is wonderful and so suited to you.

  10. Karen said

    Both the doll quilts are just fabulous – great colours, fabrics and I love the quilting. I had found the freemotion blog – it is excellent.

  11. Brianna said

    Your quilt looks gorgeous, can’t wait to see a photo of the whole thing. You are so lucky getting such a beautiful quilt. I want to try and go in the doll swap next year, looks like so much fun.

  12. I don’t know who is more lucky–you or her. Both are wonderful quilts! And that site on free motion quilting. I’ve got a list of people who I will be sending the link to. Thanks.

    Nedra

  13. You ARE so lucky — STILL! Love the doll quilt! Incredible! So creative! And AB fabrics, too!!!!! I hope the lucky recipient of your quilt in Bulgaria sends a picture, because I REALLY want to see it. Thanks for the free motion quilting blog link. I really haven’t done it in a long time. Took a class once or twice, but have always chickened out when it came to an actual quilt — not a practice block. I really should take another class and have at it. Everyone on flickr and blogs seems to do be able to do it in their sleep. Again — you are lucky lately and should probably think about buying a lottery ticket (and this from someone who has never bought one).

  14. Anita said

    Thanks for passing on the free motion quilting site!!! I had not yet discovered it. And, it was perfect timing as I have some time reserved tomorrow on the rental machine. It may just save me some Freaking Out time tonight as I try to decide what I am going to quilt.

  15. Sharrieboberry said

    I. did. not. know! Otherwise I would have told!

  16. Lil said

    your DSQ7 is such a cutie, luckky you, didn’t get mine yet

    and the quilting link, girl you are the best, what would I have done without you, ……….. probably I would have missed that thing

  17. Jan said

    I did NOT know about that! Thanks for passing it on. I plan to practice my (nonexistent) machine quilting skills this winter and this looks like a perfect reference.

  18. lily boot said

    well done Amy dear – you’ve just given me another blog to while away the hours on ’cause I wasn’t spending enough time on the computer! OMG – that is divine free motion quilting – I can see lots of hours of practice coming up. Your doll quilt is gorgeous – what a wonderful design – and the quilting that when into the petals is darling. You’re a lucky duck indeed.

  19. Debbie said

    Lucky indeed, a beautifully made quilt. Love her free motion quilting.

    Debbie

  20. domoshar said

    Amy, I will make a little session and send you some pictures of the little treasure.
    The weather /light/ is good and my camera batteries charging so I will soon have some.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

