Sexy hexy Love quilt

The hexagon quilt pattern using Amy Butler’s Love fabrics (called the Sexy Hexy Loe Quilt) is now available over at Amy’s web site (go to free patterns and then sewing patterns). The method is completely different than my approach but I may meld the two. It will be good to see if I was close at guesstimating the sizes of things. Wheeeee!

Today I’ve been plugging away at quilting the Full Bloom quilt. Stick-to-it-ive-ness is key. And can I just say that it is really satisfying to finish a cone of thread. Just not right in the middle of quilting a quilt (added bonus if you don’t have more of THAT color).

Some sad news…

Remember Gilligan?

gilligan

Here he is in healthier days. Well, Gilligan passed on to the big fishbowl in the sky the other day. I guess we just couldn’t meet his needs although we tried to give him a good home.

RIP Gilligan.

13 Comments »

  1. MichelleB said

    Yeah. That was always our luck with fish. I can’t even tell you how many fish are buried at our old house. Hopefully they never dig up the garden!

    I bought some Liberty scraps. I just had to. I just had to touch it! I’ll let you know all about it when it comes. lol

  2. Jackie said

    Yes, Amy’s pattern is a little different than I would do myself. Anxious to see how you complete it. I would strip piece and then cut triangles and piece them together. I am sorry to hear about Gilligan. I am sure he is happy in the big fishbowl in the sky.

    Hey, you are once again famous Down Under at MO. Cute project!

  3. Janet said

    Fish are tricky, I think the three my GD had were over fed, they gave up then.
    Off to check up on the pattern, thanks for telling us about it.

  4. Karin said

    Farewell, Gilligan. I’m heading over to see that pattern now. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the heads-up.

  5. Poor Gilligan, but I’m sure he had a short but very happy life with your family. I started to check for Amy’s pattern this morning, but got distracted (as usual). I’m heading over there now. 2-3 days till my Love arrives! Yippee!

  6. Thanks for the lead to Amy’s free pattern. I just downloaded it. And Congratulaions on being featured on MO!!! Love the dolly quilt you made.

  7. belinda said

    W-a-y great Dolly quilt!! I’ve already told you how cool you are over at MO!!
    I’m off to check out the Amy pattern!!

  8. Sarah said

    Alas, poor Gilligan, I knew him well.

  9. Brianna said

    I’ve given up on fish. I had 4 or 5 fighting fish (one at a time) and it ended with the last one jumping out of it’s tank! Stupid kamikaze fish.
    Thanks for the link to the Amy quilt, been checking everyday for it. Just saw your quilt on MO too. Very pretty!

  10. lily boot said

    Oh Lord! The melodrama that is goldfish ownership. I’m over it. But I do feel a twinge of “poor-Gilligan” and “poor-Anabel” πŸ™‚ They are so hard to look after – I could never get the feeding or the temperature or the water right. Oh dear. And clearly Gilligan was punishing you for failing to keep him in the manner he was accustomed and that is why you ran out of thread half way through the quilt. Mhm.

  11. Cathy said

    Thank you, Commiserations and Congratulations!!

    Thank you for the link to the sexy hexy love quilt….I love it and will make it soon.
    Commiserations on the passing of Gilligan, that is too sad!
    Congratulations on getting your beautiful doll quilt featured on Kathy’s blog over at Material Obsession there…I love those ric rac flowers, and of course the fabrics you have used, bliss! xo

  12. Katy said

    Poor Gilligan. Get a cat. Much easier πŸ˜‰

  13. poppyprint said

    I wonder how many fairs Gilligan had been to before yours – he was probably a senior-citizen goldfish, wise in the ways of pingpong ball dodging. Sniff.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

