The vapors

Back in the day (and by that I mean when I was growing up…) when there were only three TV stations (!), I ended up watching a lot of old movies (and now dear daughter complains that it is hard to watch anything in black and white — well, if you’re going to get your recommended dose of the Marx Brothers, you’ll just have to get used to it!). Ladies in these movies invariably came down with the vapors when something overwhelmed them. Yes, I can get hysterical over fabric. Don’t you?!

For example:

newfabric

Aboriginal prints from M&S Textiles and Reece Scannell shot cottons to go with them.

Ack! ::sigh:: Swoon!

Did you know that Kathy has these over at Material Obsession?  She was telling us about the Reece Scannell shot cottons a while back. She is a woman of her word and they are divine and look like silk.  I’ve been eyeing the M&S prints for a while — got a large chunk of a light print a while back that will go beautifully with the Kaffe-y prints.

I’m going to have to plan a project to keep these lovelies together in a tidy quilted package. It doesn’t hurt that they remind me of the richness of the beautiful fall colors. Our carving pumpkin is just that orange. I collected some rose hips from the yard that are just that red. The leaves are turning just those shades of brown and yellow.

::sigh:

I feel the vapors coming on again…

4 Comments »

  1. The vapors! Oh, I haven’t heard that expression since my mother died. She liked to joke about that (and she definitely was not one to have the vapors). That made me smile.

    And, yes, Kathy did tell us all about those lovely shot cottons from Reece Scannell. I’m going to have to do something about that. Oh, the things I could do with more time and more money!

  2. Love the fabrics. Insanely impressed by your usage of the vapors expression!

  3. MichelleB said

    Lovely, lovely fabrics. Are the shot cottons similar to Kaffe’s? Those always feel so thin to me.

  4. jmbmommy said

    Did you ever see “Little House on the Prairie” when Mrs. Olsen got the vapors??? SO FUNNY!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

