It’s a problem

I can’t seem to put down the Rouenneries fabric. Which, I believe, just goes to show that my fabric tastes are indeed all over the place. I don’t even think there is a single print that is my favorite single print. I love them all. And I love them all together. Their ability to scrap it up all together. Their warmth all together. I have three Rouenneries projects in the works. Overkill? Will I be well and done with it when the projects are done? We shall see.

spider

Inspired by Katy with technical direction by Marit (although we are doing a difference size and are using a faux paper piecing technique so as not to waste precious Rouenneries backgrounds). Still deciding how many blocks of this I’m going to do. My, my, they do take a while to make. The optimist’s goal is 12 blocks. In this century.

A second small quilt is underway with a third only in the planning stages:

dolliequiltstart

Dolly dresses in Rouenneries, of course — the beginnings of the Dollies Online logo quilt. I have a feeling these will be some well dressed dollies because I can’t see leaving them just ONE dress each, can you? That would be cruel.

Back to spider webs before the school bus comes roaring to a stop.

17 Comments »

  1. Stephanie said

    Oh my stars!!! (said in my best Samantha of Bewitched voice) Yes, this is a stunner. I would have NEVER thought to use these beauties in a spiderweb quilt. Stunning. Oh yes, those dollies need several outfits.

  2. lily boot said

    oh amy it’s beautiful – it is gorgeous fabric isn’t it? You’ve used the backgrounds so well and they will be gorgeous for dollie dresses! I don’t think you can have too many rounneries projects – the more, the more beautiful the world will be ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love the Rouenneries line too. I’m trying to figure out exactly what I want to make with it, before I go overboard buying it up.

  4. MichelleB said

    Love the spider web blocks in the Rouenneries fabric. I love that fabric, too. I’m still trying to finish up a quilt with them. I guess you have to work on it for it to get finished.

  5. Karen Notley said

    Oh my goodness but isn’t it just a wonderful range. I am still not 100% decided on the style of quilt I will make with mine. It has to be a bed quilt though so I can look at it all the time.

  6. fabulous spiderweb quilt!

  7. I adore how the use of different background fabrics on your spiderweb affects the pattern and turns the stars into harlequin diamonds…. Very interesting! I am planning a spiderweb with different background fabrics but not within the blocks themselves – I never would’ve thought of that. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  8. Zarina said

    Overkill perhaps but I would follow the same – soak up the love until you are thouroughly satisfied.

  9. Anita said

    I know what you mean, that French General fabric is the BOMB! I can never get enough red & white/taupe. Long live the Rouenneries fabric!

  10. Interesting spiderwebs with the “kites” in different fabrics. I love spiderweb quilts, and it looks great in the Rouenneries fabric.

    I’m looking forward to those dollies online quilts in the new year ๐Ÿ™‚

    joan

  11. That fabric is so beautiful in the string quilt, that no, 3 projects will not be overkill.
    I see Superior Theads Frosted Donut being used for applique. It’s one of my favorite things that we carry. I use mine all the time, on airplanes, cars, etc.
    I tell people about them all the time too.

  12. sewpam63 said

    Mmmm. The scrappy delicious-ness is yummy! : ) Can’t wait to see the other two projects…?!

  13. Marit said

    Pretty fabric, pretty spiderwebs… I love how versatile that pattern is! Thank you for linking to my tutorial!
    ; )
    Marit

  14. Katy said

    too…much…can’t….cope…. I don’t think you can ever get fed up with rouenneries, can you?

  15. arlijohn said

    I love that you are doing the spiderweb block. I think it is one of my alltime favorite traditional blocks. The fabric is beautiful.

  16. pam said

    You’re right, I would not have thought of you with this fabric. But hmm, probalby not true as I know you love the grays and pewtar type colors. Love the design and the technique is great!

  17. nanette said

    Your work is always so beautiful. I have that donut at my house too. I love it for applique.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

