All-time faves

Liza kindly sent me a note with permission to use their Celestial Dreams image and Ibby filled in a brain blank, so I’m updating my post.

Having wandered over to Glorious Patchwork to see what’s new (oh, also bracelets), I was very excited to see one of my all-time fave quilt designs back in print — Susan Powell’s Celestial Dreams quilt.

This quilt was made by Ruth De Bord. Glorious, isn’t it?!

I remember seeing line drawings of this quilt in Threads magazine back in the day before the Internets brought us all good things. Back then the ads were for a block of the month program through Summer House. Several years later, by the time I saw the quilt made up, I HAD TO HAVE THE PATTERN and it was OUT OF PRINT. I stalked it. I bugged Gail Kessler at Ladyfingers Sewing Studio. By that time, the internet was a useful hunting tool, so I found the full pattern (which was slightly different than the BOM) and then found a kind soul who sold me her un-made BOM kit (ahem, still unfinished…cough, cough).

Anyways, it is one of my all-time favorite quilt designs and it’s available again.

What are some of your all-time favorite quilt designs?

10 Comments »

  1. Jackie said

    Thanks for waiting! I love it! Very bright and cheerful. Don’t you just hate it when something you love goes out of print. It’s like my mother always said, “if you really want that bad, get it know, because when you come back for it it may be gone”. Words to live by… I think!

  2. arlijohn said

    Wow, what a really great quilt. Thanks for sending me over there.

  3. Cathy said

    Oh Wow Mrs S, that is incredible, I can see why you love it. I would love to see yours sometime xo

  4. Janet said

    That’s an amazing quilt, real eye candy. Thanks for showing us.

  5. Whew! Thanks for waiting. I tried to be quick :). I don’t know if I have an all time favorite quilt design, but the first thing that popped into my head (favorite quilt that got away) was the Ebay on Point quilt by Kaffe Fassett. I can’t even think which book it is from, but I just loved that quilt and always meant to buy the kit from the Glorious Patchwork site (why mess with perfection). Anyway, I’m pretty cheap, so sometimes I put off spending the money instead of buying something right away, and then one day it was too late. No more kits.

  6. Anna Fogg said

    Oh my, I did not know of this beauty; took my ever-loving breath away….still reeling! I have created murals like this, and smaller vivid designs like this but not one of this magnitude. You have brought my inspiration back. Your blog, and I suppose, Ms Powell! btw, I just love your blog. A great joy to read.

    I would love to know the dimensions of this quilt. I say 60″? or else it’s a queen-size.

    ~anna fogg
    http://www.bohemiancotton.blogspot.com/

  7. sewpam63 said

    It’s gorgeous! Wowee. : ) Thanks for sharing…I think…?! I can’t say I have a favorite. I LOVE them ALL!!! Honest.

  8. meredith said

    Nice choice for favorite. I like that one. That would keep you busy for 2010.

  9. ibby said

    I’ve always loved Susan Powell’s designs and especially Celestial Dreams. The Summer House always had phenominal BOMs – even just the “plain” pieced blocks – their fabric selection was just fabulous. I’ve been to the shop several times…after Gail Kessler sold it and before she bought it back and it became Ladyfingers. What a sensory overload!!! They had fabric EVERYWHERE – from 30’s to batiks to Australian and African prints. OH!

    Favorite quilt design? Not sure, but my favorite block is any variation of the log cabin. You can do so much with it.

  10. beth said

    wonderful inspiration here today! thank you for sharing this quilt!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

