Three…

Someone in the house desperately needs a new apron for Christmas.

It’s a little hard to find apron dimensions for a tween sized person. I adapted the wonderful directions from JCaroline Creative.

I also, ahem, had to cannibalize someone’s much smaller apron for its D-rings. I bought D-rings last week AND PUT THEM IN A SAFE PLACE. They are still very safe. Wherever they may be. Sheesh.

Here’s the apron I made dear daughter wear yesterday when we were making some disastrous tri-level brownies (number 45 in the 2009 100 Best Cookies magazine, if anyone wants to avoid the recipe):

As we say around here, that apron is a little squeeze-y. And now it is hidden away because it has no D-rings. I’m sure it is completely safe from me.

14 Comments »

  1. Tricia said

    Ah, how fondly I remember keeping MY D-rings “safe”! I think they must be in protective custody in New Mexico!
    Thanks for the great blog!
    Tricia

  2. Lesly said

    How many things have disappeared into the ether of “somewhere safe”? The apron looks great!

  3. Stephanie said

    Very stylish apron! So glad to know you keep things in safe places too!

  4. During one of those moments of weakness, I bought D-rings – some 1-1/2″. some 2″, and a smattering of smaller ones that are still in the box that I put them in years ago. I think it was the Wright’s close-out in Mass… so if you need some, just send me your address. I would love to find them a good home since I already used the two I needed!!!

  5. What a beautiful apron – so stylin’. Very sorry to hear about the brownie disaster. I hope they still tasted good. Just cover any unsightly non-layering of trilevel brownies with lots and lots of vanilla ice cream and fudge sauce!

  6. Wow, I am not the only one whose hiding places become secret ones. The good thing is we always have wonderful surprises when we have time to clean. “Oh look! I already had one!” And then we can share. Karmen

  7. Nedra said

    I need to go out and buy some d-rings for a project. Maybe I’d better keep them right on my sewing machine so I don’t lose them!

  8. Jackie said

    You can tell she is growing up her taste is changing from pink to Kaffe. Or wait is that just mom’s taste?

  9. Robyn said

    Great colour combination! Those spots (dots?) make the Kaffe print really sparkle.
    HATE those Christmas baking disasters – every cookie I baked last year (all from untried recipes) was a catastrophe. This year year I’m sticking to Mum’s old faithful recipes – which can usually be found on the back of the packets of ingredients.

  10. sewpam63 said

    LOVE the fabrics you chose! : )

  11. Cathy said

    Have you found your safe place yet? I have a few of those safe places, sometimes, months later, I find a nice surprise!!!! Beautiful apron, what a great gift idea they are xo

  12. How cute! I’ve just finished a reversible apron with a ruffle for my younger daughter for Christmas. I paired it with a beginner cookbook and I’m sure it will be a big hit. I loved your comment on the D-rings…I hate when I put something in a “safe place.” As my mom would say, that will get you every time!

  13. Joan J said

    Please give that tweeny daughter a big squeeze. I have an 18 year old daughter who is doing some really interesting (re: dangerous) stuff, and she hasn’t wanted to be close to me since she was 12. Please value the good relationship you have with her, and say a prayer that my daughter and I will be reconciled before long.

    Good job, Mom! Lovely apron, and I love your other post about the Christmas mailbox!

  14. Anita said

    Lovely apron… she’s a lucky girl. Have a Merry Merry Christmas!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

