That’s pretty cheesy

Chelley asked about cheese spread recipes. I am happy to oblige…so as to addict you too. Helpful that way, aren’t I?

Port Wine Cheese Spread

1 cup crumbled blue cheese (your favorite kind — gorgonzola is delicious too)
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1 – 8 oz. package cream cheese (lite is fine)
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 tablespoon port wine (I use a local mead instead)
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 cup pecans, toasted and finely chopped

Process all ingredients (except pecans) in food processor until smooth, about one minute. Dump the whole thing into a shallow decorative bowl and add chopped pecans to the top. If you are really brave, make it into a cheese ball. I don’t bother. Serve with your favorite crackers or crusty bread.

Horseradish Cheese Spread

2 – 8 oz. packages cream cheese, softened (lite is fine)
2/3 cup chopped green olives with pimiento (chopped salad olives are fine)
1/2 cup grated parmesan
2 teaspoons prepared horseradish (more or less to your taste)

Mix all ingredients together with a stand or hand mixer (can also use a food processor). Dump into a shallow decorative bowl and serve with your favorite crackers (this is really good with stoned wheat crackers).

I’d show you a pic of my favorite Waechtersbach Christmas tree dish saved especially for cheese spread, but, er, it’s still in use and not looking too festive at the moment. I think we’ll have one more round of horseradish cheese and then BE DONE WITH IT FOR THE YEAR, I TELL YOU.

Ahem.

4 Comments »

  1. Katy said

    oh, that’s so unfair. I love a cheese spread, but cheese and me are no longer friends. Maybe I could make it and just sniff it? Horseradish cheese spread sounds like heaven!!!!

  2. KaHolly said

    Yummmy, that horseradish cheese spread sounds like I should make it to treat my family! Thanks for sharing!~karen

  3. Jackie said

    MMMM…. Cheese spreads. I think they should just be spread straight on to my thighs, that is where it will end up anyway. Right? Thanks for the recipes!

  4. In the words of Homer Simpson, “Mmmmmmmmmm. Cheese.”

    joan

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

