Looking into the future

I’m planning ahead. Don’t act so surprised. I’m in the delightful One Block Over quilting bee. Fun, fun, fun! You get to play with other people’s fabric and make interesting (fun!) blocks. My block month is coming up in May. I have an idea of what I’d like, but I thought I’d better try out some color combos before committing. With the help of my trusty Kona solids color card, I plotted and planned and wandered to see where I could get the most colors at the fewest places.

Yesterday, a gorgeous package arrived from Kathy’s wonderful Pink Chalk Fabrics. OH MY!

Today, an urgent yellow package came from Hancock’s of Paducah to round out the selections:

So many delicious colors from which to choose!

I added in some Kona Snow to lighten things up and made some geese.

I haven’t decided which flying geese block I’d like to use, so I haven’t sewn these together. But I am enjoying the color play and hope to be prepared to mail out packages to the One Block Over participants later in April.

There are a lot of flying geese patterns, methods, etc., out there. I used this one for the Dutchman’s Puzzle block over at the Country Crossroads Quilters guild page.  My geese aren’t arranged in the Dutchman’s Puzzle color layout in my photo, but I’m still playing around.

I see geese in my future.

20 Comments »

  1. Katy said

    I love a goose or 2. And the stack of solids is making me have palpitations. Oh my. Oh my oh my oh my.

  2. Andi said

    Gorgeous stacks of colour.
    I also purchased some solids from Hancocks yesterday (while they still had free shipping internationally).
    Looking forward to seeing more geese!!
    Andi x

  3. LOVE this! I want some too. I’ll have to call Kathy. I really am hoping to see more solid patterns. I just got a “How to Make an Amish Quilt” from 1989 and I’m getting some draft paper out.

  4. Doris said

    I love these Amy! Yummy colors, and yes, you’ve had a fun mail week! The Dutchman’s Puzzle is one of my all time faves, and I’m a Flying Geese addict…can’t wait to work on these.

  5. Jan said

    I’ve been on busy-print overload so these solids are looking quite enticing today. Gorgeous selction of colors!

  6. Michele C said

    Nice range of colors! Might as well keep us in the practice of geese, as we’ve just made how many? this month? We can only get better!

  7. Jenny said

    i love the versitility of flying geese…i asked for some in my month of a quilting bee too!

  8. pam said

    These geese aren’t going to make a mess on your lawn either.

  9. sewpam63 said

    HoOonNkkk! ; ) What fun you’re having!?

  10. Sarah said

    GASP!! what a heavenly stack of yumminess. Got to love those urgent yellow parcels. Looking delicious….

  11. kathie said

    something about solids lately, have to admit I am starting to collect as well
    I need a new kona color card!
    love the geese 🙂
    Kathie

  12. Stephanie said

    What a wonderful color palette. Are you on a first name basis with your mail person?

  13. Oooo! Pretty!

  14. Janet said

    Yum yum yum, don’t they look delicious all together. I’m very fond of fabric geese and these are going to be fabulous.

  15. Absolutely gorgeous colors! I can’t stop looking.

  16. Sally said

    Love your fabric choices. I’d like to be able to duplicate your order. I want to the Pink Chalk site but they don’t seem to have any kind of wall on which to audition them. Do you have a listing of which ones you ordered? Would love if you’d share it. TIA, Sally

  17. randi said

    lovely colors! so spring-y and refreshing!

  18. Hayley said

    Oh I am so jealous of those stacks!

  19. Jackie said

    Just a wonderful use of the Kona solids! I adore your block and the colors you chose. So glad that the color card was of assistance.

  20. Kathy said

    I love the colors and I am going to have to buy one of those color cards!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

