I thought they’d never leave

Do you ever have anxiety dreams about your quilts? I had one last night. I had a dream that while I was quilting the Going to Market quilt, I irreparably messed it up and somehow all the happy colors drained out of it. I woke up to this sinking feeling that the quilt was not so much ruined as it was now a giant disappointment.

I really think the dream was caused by poor circulation due to all of the SITTING I did yesterday while trying to finish the quilting. And I still had quilting to do when I got up this morning. I thought it would never end. Of course, if I didn’t feel the need to quilt it within an inch of its life. But, really, once some areas get all nice and flat, ALL of it needs to be nice and flat. To me. I am choosing to ignore the littlest baskets. They have been stitched in the ditch but no extra quilting. They puff out just a little. La la la, I can’t hear you, little baskets…

And then I didn’t think I had enough black and white stripe for the binding. Sorry, nothing else would do. The binding is comprised of many lengths of strips. Now to stitch it down and keep working on another project. Time’s a’wasting!


Before I leave, I’ve been remiss in not posting the March “in be ‘tween books” list. Books were indeed read in March — March being reading month around here. Quite apt that the in-house reader was born in March. So:

1. Odd & the Frost Giants – by Neil Gaiman (the favorite of the month)
2. The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 2) – by Rick Riordan
3. The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson & the Olympians, Book 3) – by Rick Riordan
4. The Hundred Dresses – by Eleanor Estes

23 Comments »

  1. Andi said

    The quilting is amazing Amy.
    Beautiful work.
    Andi 🙂

  2. MichelleB said

    It is lovely! The quilting (as always) is fabulous. Aren’t dreams something? I had a whole series of some the other morning that I had tough time getting out of my head.

  3. Stephanie said

    I can’t even believe you do that on a regular sewing machine. It’s just fantastic!!! I not only would be spewing foul language I’d need a chiropractor by the end of the quilt!

  4. Jan said

    This is simply fabulous! Is it *going somewhere*? Another reminder that I really need to start practicing machine quilting. (As if I really needed another reminder.) Oh well, something to aspire to! Your quilting design is so fresh, it looks effortless.

  5. Janet said

    Your quilting is gorgeous as usual, I wish I could do as well. It’s so beautiful, it’s left me wanting to see more. The quilt is stunning.

  6. Wonderful job! It is gorgeous! I may have to make a basket quilt…. love the striped handles! Polly

  7. Jackie said

    Amy, I am just in awe!! Your baskets are beautifully brimming with blooms and blossoms! Just awesome!

  8. Beth said

    wow, that quilting is amazing! andi think the basket handels look great how they are! wonderful job!

  9. Sarah said

    I’ll just be really original and say your quilting is amazing, but really what else is there to say?? It looks gorgeous.

  10. Incredible. It is super gorgeous Amy – you’re a very talented quilter! Thanks for sharing your work. I’m feeling all inspired to machine quilt something now.

  11. kathy said

    That looks just beautiful!! I love the flowers you quilted.

  12. You have done a beautiful job on the quilting. I’m sorry it has caused nightmares, because you should be so proud. Poor Nanette of Freda’s Hive just got hers back from the quilter and somehow the sides of the basket points got chopped off as she did the binding. She doesn’t know what she did wrong, and is trying very hard not to be broken hearted.

  13. Carla said

    I LOVE this basket quilt……..the striped handles are the BEST! I’ve been eyeing the liberated baskets in Gwen’s book, Liberated Quilting ll. Maybe striped handles are in my future also!

  14. pamina said

    Wonderful quilt and quilting !

  15. Jenny said

    your bloomin’ baskets are just terrific! can’t wait to see the binding!!
    gorgeous!

    just finished up the Titan’s Curse myself…they are some fun reading! very harry potterish, dont you think?

  16. sewpam63 said

    My goodness – that quilting is outstanding!!! It REALLY adds to the whole quilt. A bias striped white and black binding will make a perfect ending. ; )

  17. Jean said

    I am making a quilt for my grandson with dots and dots and dots and circle piecing. Last night I tossed and turned and couldn’t sleet for some reason, but when I did snooze, I saw dots and dots swirling. Ugh.

  18. pam said

    You always do the most amazing quilting!!

  19. AnnieO said

    I wish my domestic sewing maching quilting was as grand as yours! It’s turned out even more gorgeous with those added flowers, clever girl. You’ll be glad you stuck with the binding choice–it never pays to change when you have your mind made up that THAT’S the one!

  20. LOVE the quilting! I wish I could do that!

  21. I’m in love with those stripey handles! Wonderful quilt!

  22. Ronda said

    This is stunning. And I listened to all the Riordan books in that series while piecing a quilt for my teenage son. He read them first and recommended them to me. Gotta love audio books for quilt time!

  23. nanette said

    Luscious, rich, exquisite. I don’t use those words without meaning them. I love it. I love the colors and feel of the whole thing. Your sitting was well worth it. I love the quilting. I wish you had quilted mine. I’m happy with mine but I love yours. Mine is done and bound. I’m taking it with me to show the girls at our little party this week and then next week when I hang it in my entryway I’ll photograph the whole thing. Amy. Your quilt turned out so special. Wish me luck on Gypsy Kisses.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

