New wave

Elizabeth Hartman of Oh, Fransson! offered a cute free pattern back in March for her New Wave Quilt. Elizabeth’s quilts and designs are so fresh and modern. Hmm, I remember when “new wave” music was fresh and modern. And now I am no longer fresh and modern. I think that’s what that means.

ANYWAY, wonderful pattern, exceedingly fast to put together.

Now I just need to decide whether to machine quilt or do some perle cotton big stitching. I think I know which one would get done sooner.

Oh, and I’ve said this before… if there is a rotary cutting template I can adapt for something, I will (read: LAZY). Instead of using Elizabeth’s pattern template, I cut the wedges using Nifty Notions 22.5 Degree wedge ruler…cutting from the fat end, if you will. I know some of you own this since it is a favored Dresden wedge ruler. Mildly different angle to my wedges.

So, fun and fast pattern! Thanks, Elizabeth!

14 Comments »

  1. Very fresh and pretty. And I don’t think you’re lazy — just smart!

  2. Carla said

    I have admired this pattern but haven’t tried it yet. It looks so great using the Nicey Jane fabrics. I agree with Joan….you are a smart cookie!

  3. Katy said

    ah, the nifty notions wedge – if it were possible I would have an illicit affair with it I love it so much.

  4. Ronda said

    As the saying goes, lazy farmers make the best fences. (Because they don’t want to do it again soon). And I say on my farm website, use your brain before your brawn or your wallet. I think the same goes with quilting… except for the wallet part. There’s never enough $ for all the quilt fabrics I want!

    Anyway, you inspire me. Thanks for sharing!

    ~ Ronda

  5. Stephanie said

    Love it. What a terrific new way to use the dresden blade!!!

  6. love the red sashing. i am still working on my New Wave. hoping that my cardboard cutout gave me the correct angle every time. next time i want the Lazy way too.

  7. Eureka! Now my Nifty Notions $15 investment just doubled in value! Hurrah! Thanks for the hot tip – I love short cuts (craftily clever, not lazy). Your new waves are ever so cheery.

  8. I totally agree. If there’s a ruler for it; I have to have it. I am so bad I even have a 7/8 ruler. Your quilt is so spring-y!

  9. I have to get myself one of those wedge rulers… I keep seeing all these fabulous projects. Love the thinner strip you added!

  10. I just finished this same quilt a few days ago myself. Wasn’t it fun?

  11. Sarah said

    Oh you know how I feel about wedges. Any friend of the wedge is a friend of mine 🙂

  12. Jackie said

    It looks fantastic and I think I have that ruler too!! Yay!!

  13. Caro said

    Thanks for showing your version of Elizabeth’s quilt. I’ll have to check my ruler inventory but I don’t think I have a wedge ruler.

  14. We love this, bright colors, cute pattern, and great quilt! Thank you for sharing your wonderful blog. Check out our blog at: http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com/

    Keep up the beautiful quilting!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

