This is only a test…

Once you get your work done, who’s to say you can’t fiddle around a little bit?

Late last week, I saw something I couldn’t get out of my mind. You know how that happens around the interweb…. It was on Sarah’s Choccybangles blog. Go on, have a look, I’ll wait here.

I KNOW!

Could barely contain myself.

So, I got my work done:

And thought to myself, I’ll just make a quick test block now that my work is done.

Here’s my test block:

Oops.

I hope Sarah doesn’t mind that I am blatantly lifting this idea. Can I blame the sewing machine? And the iron? And the rotary cutter? Or just the utter sweetness of the block?

27 Comments »

  1. MichelleB said

    Absolutely Fabulous! I certainly hope Sarah doesn’t mind either. I also hope she doesn’t mind you telling us how to do them. You are going to tell us, aren’t you? πŸ˜‰

  2. Anita said

    Love! I’d blame it on the rotary cutter. They have a mind of their own. If only I could get my work done so that my rotary cutter would make a few of those blocks!

  3. Stephanie said

    This is so cute and cool. I want one!!! Yes, finish the “work” then play the day away.

  4. Carla said

    Oh, my stars, Amy! BOTH of this quilts have made my mouth hang open!! I saw a glimpse of the butterflies on flickr yesterday. LOVE!!

  5. Rachaeldaisy said

    I can totally understand why the rotary cutter made you do this block!! It’s so much fun!!

  6. Jackie said

    That is definitely more than one test block! But wow, I can really understand why you had to have a little fun. Love it!!

  7. andi said

    You’re a clever chicken Mrs S!!!

  8. Mary Jo said

    I love both of the quilts. It looks like your blocks are bigger. Is that right?
    What size do they finish?

  9. Wow! Your blocks really caught my eye. I visited the blog you were inspired by. You did well.

  10. Jan said

    I can see why you couldn’t stop making them, Amy! This is actually a very popular block in Japanese contemporary quilts and is often featured in Japanese quilt magazines. Funny how some blocks remain fairly regional, although I imagine that now this one will be breaking onto the international scene…lol. Yours in the *brights on solid black* is spectacular!

  11. Oh wow! I love your version!
    The black background really makes it.

  12. gahjus!!!! Love to hear that you were powerless against the inspiration. How amazing that you had some time and fabric available to you!

  13. lexi said

    Sarah is my sister. She is one heck of a talented ladieeeee!

  14. Amy said

    Beautiful! Love this!

  15. Samantha said

    Oh my oh my oh my. Kind of want to go start a test block or 12 of my own RIGHT NOW.

  16. Rebecka said

    I love your test block, but it turned into more than one. πŸ™‚ I would blame the sewing machine. I really like your top quilt too!

  17. sofia said

    I really really like design. I think it lends itself to scrap fabric usage!!
    Hope to see more!
    Sofia

  18. Heidi said

    looks like you past the test with flying colors!
    wonderful!

  19. Marit said

    How could you resist these?
    ; )

  20. lily boot said

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH! I had things to do tomorrow – not now!!!! That is awesomely gorgeous! Wow! Miss Choccybangles is very clever and Miss Schmenkman is too πŸ™‚

  21. Ann Marie said

    Not more than ten minutes ago I set down my copy of Quiltmania where I’d been admiring a quilt with these blocks in it. Like Sarah, the center strip was text. All three of these tops are fabulous. No instructions in the magazine so I hope you’ll share the measurements.

  22. Pratima said

    Amy, your quilts are always delightful and the quilting on them is exquisite… your version of butterfly quilt is just adorable!

  23. How do you spell “ooooo” & “aaaah”? I think your rotary cutter is a bad influence on my rulers!

  24. Valentina said

    Oh, Sarah, Oh Amy… ohhhh… painful! Ouch!
    slippery slope, here I come!
    don’t they remind you of Obi’s on Kimono’s or even vintage waist-lines…
    … oh no…
    πŸ™‚

  25. Victoria said

    cute!!!! what fun… don’t you love a good idea!

  26. Janet said

    It was no good fighting the inspiration, what a great block,lol. I just saw a Japanese one in Quiltmania using the same block. I just love looking at your quilting, it makes me swoon.

  27. Christiane said

    I love those butterflies, but your cutlery quilt made my mouth water too!
    New ideas make the wip going even faster but sometimes I just skip and begin something new without feeling guilty, fun fun fun!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

