Is it fabric season?

What is up? There is so much new fabric out there that I love. You too? Makes it very, very hard to sleep at night.

Sometimes I lay awake and try to match the fabric to the perfect project. It must be the perfect project for the fabric. I would hate the let the fabric down by cutting and sewing it into a lesser project. Such a shame.

This is about the time I become paralyzed with project-fabric cohesion anxiety (PFCA?) and simply can’t bring myself to cut the stuff. Unless I know I have back-ups. Is there a pill for this? Do you have it too? Honestly.

A recent fabric arrival is Tula Pink’s Parisville.

Sigh and swoon.

The Cameo print is out of this world!

You can see the design process for the Cameo print — fascinating!

I will never be able to draw. Only fabric goddesses and gods can bring us such magical fabric designs. Yeah, no, I won’t be sending anything off to Spoonflower anytime soon.

In my fabric and project speed-dating dreams, I’ve been thinking that Parisville may have to become Rebecca Johnson’s “Curlicue Crush.” That would get all the prints and colorways together. But I also love Tula Pink’s Wind Swept quilt. Maybe that could be a second quilt. Cuz I would need some yardage for that one. Not just these measly fat quarters. ๐Ÿ™‚

Also in the works is Lynette Anderson’s Scandinavian Christmas.

I am auditioning some Free Spirit solids for that.

Decisions, decisions. Did you know that Kathy at Pink Chalk has ALL the Free Spirit Designer Solids? This is handy when you’ve got the swatch book in front of you and you want THAT color and THAT color and THAT color. The espresso brown is what made me go with the Free Spirit solids over others. It was interesting to compare Kona’s color swatches with Free Spirit’s. My conclusion, of course, was that a quilter could use every solid there is. That could definitely keep a girl up at night thinking about that!

What fabrics are calling your name at the moment??

23 Comments »

  1. Jackie said

    GASP!! Oh no, does this mean you do not love Kona’s anymore??? Weeping… But seriously, everyone should have solids, but I guess I am partial to the Kona’s, although I must admit the Free Spirit are nice too… I guess. But I love the name for your disorder. Describes me to a tee!! Maybe we should start forming a group, PFCAA, the last A for Anonymous, of course.

  2. Stephanie said

    So much goodness out there but I”m eagerly awaiting Amy Butler’s Soul Blossom. Love the espresso. I’d love a FQ of each and every solid by each and every designer.

  3. Sarah said

    I’m waiting for the new Kokka prints… and Isso Eco and Heart and Sweet Broderie from Lecien of course!

  4. Becky said

    I too am trying to decide what to do with my Parisville! It arrives tomorrow and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  5. Just looking at my Innocent Crush yet with no plans. It has to be a GOOD plan before I start.

  6. Amy C said

    Parisville is beautiful! I can’t blame you for not wanting to cut into it. I have not yet seen the Free Spirit solids so appreciate knowing it is out there.

  7. Meaghan said

    I cannot wait for Sherbet Pips to come out so I can buy up a whole bunch! It’s just so sweet!

  8. Carla said

    The best cure for PFCA is a new rotary blade. Or so I hear!

  9. I toss and turn at night thinking about fabric and patterns!! I’m not allowed to spend any money at the moment which is killing me with all these gorgeous lines coming out- Parisville, Sis Booms Queen Street, Amy Butlers Soul Blossoms, Leciens Sugar Flower, Denyse Schmidt’s Greenfield Hill. Anna Marie horners Innocent Crush. Phew!! And if that’s not enough I’ve fallen in love with Aneelias Sherbet Pips, but that dosent come out till next year.

  10. Marit said

    I think I need to join your club, anonymous, of course ; )
    Denyse Schmidt, Amy Butler, Tula Pink are on top of my list, Since Anna Marie Horner’s not so innocent line is already lighting up my stash. Pretty bad, this disorder… (The only reason not mentioning Aneela Hoey’s Sherbert Pips, is they belong to 2011, I’m told.)
    ; )

  11. Ahhhh i have wanted to make up the Curlicue Crush Pattern in the Parisville collection!!! I bet it would look amazing!! If you ever get around to doing it… please please email me a picture!! xxx

  12. Cindy said

    I have it too! PFCA. Maybe we need a support group or a telethon? I also received TP’s new line yesterday. Just enjoying looking at it!

  13. Ah, where to start? Oh my goodness. Well, I’m really a 12 year old in a grown up body. I love Kate Spain’s Central Park. FS Solids are lovely. I’m totally loving the new batiks…and…

  14. Pratima said

    Isn’t it exhilarating when the right fabrics and the right project come together… It is the best feeling! Kokka fabrics are the one I’m looking forward to. Have a great weekend!

  15. Andie said

    I’m digging Pat Bravo’s stuff and I’m about to bite the bullet on some Joel Dewberry navy fabrics. And Jennifer Paganelli – why does her stuff thrill me so? And I’m just starting to like some of the Japanese fabrics – although my budget wants me to ignore them. I’m really trying to like Parisville – but I’m just not feelin it yet. Maybe it’ll grow on me.

  16. cathy said

    Gorgeous fabrics and quilt patterns over here Mrs S. Love those solids, never tried them, must remedy that. I definately have PFCA. I find I finally cut into my fabric then order a heap more cause I don’t want to run short. Then of course I have waaay too much and will never use it all.

    Have just ordered half yards of Amy Butlers entire Soul Blossoms range! Only a little bit obsessive! xo

  17. Miriam said

    I love everything from French General!!
    I’m glad I am not the only one with problems cutting into fabric!!

    Must have a look at the Free Spirit solids. Thanks for the link! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Judy B said

    Okay, I have the Parisville and am making it into a chair quilt – the pattern is coming out on 12/17. I love it – except for the lion or panther or whatever that animal is.

  19. Bronwyn said

    I am in EXACTLY the same frame of mind at the moment – so many fabric choices, so little room hehe! I am seriously looking at my FQs of Parisville – thinking I don’t want to cut into it, incase I do the wrong thing!!! In fact I don’t want to cut up Cameo (I have it in Mist) AT ALL – I think it is a work of art!! I just might buy metres of it for backing and look at the back of the quilt the whole time lol! Then…you mentioned Curlique Crush – and I also picked my pattern up to check if this would work – I feel that the prints are a little too large and the seams within the block would show too much. Again, I don’t want to do the wrong thing by the fabric. I am in the middle of google searching patterns for Parisville, but not finding too many – I think many people are just in the ‘honeymoon’ phase of their Paris experience hehe!

  20. barb said

    love that cameo print – must get some of that.
    I’ve been using solids more lately, they really set off good prints and give the eye somewhere to rest.

  21. jmbmommy said

    That parisville fabric makes me throw up, it is so pretty…. sorry, but that is how I feel. I some times can’t read your blog because I know that it is going to contain fabric images that will either make me pass out or vomit. Excuse me, I have to go and sit down.

    You rock!

  22. Mama Spark said

    I love all the solids. I have just bought a Kona color card and I have a friend that has the Moda Bella color card. I really like the Moda Bella solids too. Hey, where did you happen to find the Lynette Anderson pattern? I think this is one I would like to make up.

  23. Sanctuary!

    Oh, and for some reason, Joel Dewberry’s Modern Meadow in the bright pinks. I know it’s been around, but I just suddenly noticed it and feel that I have to have it.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

