Use your time wisely

Easier said than done sometimes. But I try. I FINALLY (FINALLY) started and finished a Lollypop Trees block from Kim McLean’s pattern. FINALLY. I have picked backgrounds, had dreams about it, picked more backgrounds, sorted fabric, traced patterns, cut freezer paper, prepped circles. And FINALLY made a block when I had some no holds barred sitting time on my hands.

It’s really inexcusable. But there you go.

Now I just need to recreate the scene of the crime, as it were, and identify the other backgrounds I chose for this version (!?). I believe I selected various colors in a few light shades.

I even worked on one of the Roseville Album blocks I started. GASP. But don’t hold your breath waiting on it. Apparently I take longer to get to these things than humanly possible.

Or sometimes I am otherwise occupied. Witness: planning for Dollies Online 2011 with Sarah!

There’s still time to join us for the fun!

In the meantime, I’m going to take a short break and settle in with a new mag:

But I won’t sit still for long — I’ve got a new steam iron I’m itching to use. Who knew a person could get so excited about a little steam?

I hope all all is well and that your plans and preparations for the holidays are steaming right along. 🙂

8 Comments »

  1. pam said

    Wow! Great block. I love all the fussy cutting.
    Now, I’ll be needing details on that iron as soon as you figure it all out.

  2. fabricpile said

    Kim McLean’s patterns are sooooo dreamy. I know better than to even purchase one, though. I’ll just enjoy the process vicariously through you.

  3. Your Lollipop block is gorgeous! Very nice fussy cutting, and wonderful choice of fabrics. I especially like the circles that look like Kiwi fruit. 🙂

  4. ok. stop the clock. that block is ridiculous, in the most gorgeous of ways. you can really pick ’em Mrs. Schmenkman.

  5. Oh My Gosh!! That blog is amazing! Can’t wait to see what else you’re gonna do!

  6. Miriam said

    Looove your Lollypop block!!! Magnificent fussy cutting!
    I look forward to seeing your first Roseville Album block!
    Selvedge is a great magazine!! I have a copy here too!

  7. pratima said

    Your fussy cutting is brilliant, Amy! I love the detail! Happy holidays 🙂

  8. Cara said

    I’m dying to subscribe to Selvedge.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

