Waiting for Santa . . . and red floss

Are you waiting for Santa? Are you done doing all the things that need doing? I’m not exactly done. I just kind of gave up. I’m applique-ing and knitting instead. Of course, I had to rip out all the knitting after the yarn broke during a triple axle…or the equivalent knitting move that I’ve never done before. I threw away about $5 worth of bison, I think. I don’t think I’ll ever know if I should twist my yarnovers clockwise 720º or counterclockwise 720º. Anyone? Anyone?

Oh well. We live to tell and to cast on again.

I’ve finished the applique portion of one of Lynette Anderson’s Scandinavian Christmas blocks. How timely.

There’s lot of stitching to do to fill in the blanks. I took it on faith that I wanted to use Cosmo Multi-work two-strand floss in the “redwork” color and I ordered 10 spools. They’re on their way here. Hopefully they’re not stuck in the rain in California. Good thing they’re colorfast! I have the Santa block queued up next. Maybe I’ll be applique-ing Santa on Christmas day.

Um, did you take advantage of Jackie’s wonderful Westminster sale last week?? I couldn’t resist. She had some prints I’ve been ogling. Did I mention they were on sale?

This one  has my name written all over it! Well, maybe not literally. The colors leap off the fabric!

Had to get some kite tails:

And a few other treats and replenishments:

Merry Christmas to me, eh? I couldn’t believe that the package arrived TWO DAYS after I ordered. Now, really, Jackie must have some magical mailing powers to get her fabric orders through the holiday rush. Thanks, Jackie!

Well, I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas. Eat a lot, enjoy your families, stay warm (or cool…). Merry Christmas!

10 Comments »

  1. Jackie said

    Love your applique block! Sorry to hear about the Knitting. Any kind of ripping out just can’t be good. All that fabric that you purchased had a special little elf working on them… ME!! Glad they arrived so timely, they look great in your home. Looking forward to seeing what you will do with them. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  2. pam said

    Merry Christmas!!! xo

  3. Stephanie said

    Jackie is awesome! Wishing she had input with the powers that be for some of my Christmas packages…that STILL have not arrived at their destination. I’m yarn clue-less. Cute block. Happy Holidays to you!!!

  4. Janet said

    Your applique is looking great! I think Jackie gives great service too and the fabrics are very nice. Good luck with the knitting and have a wonderful Christmas.

  5. Anita said

    I gave up on getting everything done too! There’s always next year. 🙂 And I’ve turned to my knitting as well.

    Merry Christmas!

  6. AnnieO said

    I can’t help you with the knitting either but the triple axle remark made me laugh! I’ve just about finished with getting ready but tonight I gave up. Too.tired.

    Lots of yummy fabric eye candy! Can’t wait to see what happens to it later!

    Merry merry Christmas to you and yours!

  7. Carla said

    Amy, you always make me smile! I am always so impressed by knitters…who can do triple axels, or not! Love those goodies that Santa brought you! Merry Christmas!!

  8. Miriam said

    Merry Christmas to you and all your family Amy!
    Great fabrics!!! Do you have a plan for them?

  9. barb said

    How did you make your blog snow?
    Amazing!
    Love your fabrics and good luck with the redwork.
    Merry Christmas

  10. I love it that it’s snowing on your blog,too! All that knitting stuff is Greek to me. It’s my mom who can actually turn a heel while watching other people do triple axles on TV!

    At first glance on your quilt block, I thought, how strange that there is brown whale in a Christmas quilt block. Perhaps I’ve had one too many eggnoggs.

    Holiday hugs to you (and hope your floss arrives soon!). -krista xx

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

