World wide spider web

Do you want to see how I ever so slightly modified Marit’s superb spider web directions? Ever so slightly to use a paper “foundation.”

So, you’ll draft your triangle foundation just as Marit shows you but make it out of paper instead of fabric. You may need only one foundation or maybe two. If you’re making a big quilt, maybe make a few more. I would make them all at once so they’re all guaranteed to be the same. Of course, the lazy among us will make one and hope for the best. Yes, that’s me.

After making your paper foundation, fold up the outer triangle “flaps” just so you have a nice crease and can easily fold the flaps out of the way as you sew.

Next, cut a rectangle of center/background/kite fabric. I cut all of mine at 5″ x 6 1/2″ — this covers the height plus seam allowance and width plus seam allowance of my center kite shape.

Center the paper foundation on the background fabric which is wrong side up. Pin in place — a flat flower head pin works well (any small headless pin works; I tried fine glass head pins and was not happy with what happened when I pressed over them).

web1

Now, fold up one of the flaps:

web2

Lay a rotary ruler over this so that a 1/4″ seam allowance will be left on the fabric (i.e., 1/4″ beyond the paper fold):

web3

Trim background fabric 1/4″ from paper fold:

web4

Now you’re ready to sew on your first strip. I pre-cut oodles of Rouenneries strips of various sizes (between 1″ and 2″). So, cut a strip long enough to fit:

web5

Lay the strip underneath the background fabric so that the fabrics are right sides together. Take this to your sewing machine and sew a seam just next to the paper fold:

web7

Press the strip out and fold the flap back down so you can see how long the next strip should be. Cut the second strip.

web8

Fold the paper flap back and lay the second strip on top of the first, right sides together:

web9

Sew this seam using 1/4″ seam allowance:

web10

Press the added strip out. Fold the paper flap back in place and cut the third strip. Lay that on top of the second strip, right sides together and stitch the seam:

web11

And so on and so on using the paper foundation only to measure the length of each successive strip. Fold the paper foundation out of the way before sewing each seam.

Eventually, you’ll have this:

web13

And you will be ready to trim up your block just as Marit shows you in her tutorial.

In this case, after trimming, remove the paper foundation and use it for the next block. After trimming, I also spritzed my pieced triangles with some Best Press to help stabilize the bias edges a little bit.

Carry on.

Oh, wait. The Wretched Excess Division wants to check in.

salty choco

Well, they might run out. It has happened before.

On the other hand, this was flown in earlier this week so you would think there would be no chocolate panic.

naked choc

Ah, but there will always be an impending chocolate panic!

20 Comments »

  1. arlijohn said

    Great directions

  2. Kathy said

    Oh I know about that sea salt chocolate!! It corrodes the willpower where chocolate is concerned.

    Your Rou…. blocks are stunning, Mrs. S. And no chocolate fingerprints, either. Not for the first time, I ask myself, “How DOES she do it?”

    K.

  3. Jan said

    Great tutorial (will come back for a slow read later), tempting chocolate photos, but I want to know about that gorgeous rotary cutter!!

  4. sandy said

    Have you seen this one?

    http://quiltville.com/spiderweb.shtml

  5. Janet said

    Lovely photos that explain the process so clearly. I really think there’s a spiderweb quilt in my future. I’m still watching and waiting for that chocolate flavour to come here. It sounds addictive.

  6. Brenda said

    I’ve modified Marit’s directions too, but I went the other way and pieced directly on a fabric foundation. I’ve made 21 blocks so far and I’m shooting for 36 to put on the top of a comforter cover. It’s an addictive and messy process, but lots of fun. I’ve never seen chocolate with sea salt — what is it like?

  7. jennifer said

    i really liked this tutorial. other tutorials on the topic haven’t made sense to me. thank you!

  8. Cathy said

    Oh I love this way of doing it, now I’m going to HAVE to make a spidey quilt! I love your rooinary’s (just typing it how I say it in my head!!!) quilt, fabulous range that one, and as for the chocolate, oh yeah, I can relate!!! xo

  9. Stephanie said

    Thank Amy. I just visited Marit and told her you sent me. I hear dark chocolate has many health benefits. :o)

  10. Marit said

    Thank you for sharing your clever twist on making the spiderweb blocks. I am definitely going to have a try at this! Being in love with these spiderweb quilts, it’s so great to have many options on how to make them! And your quilt will be very pretty and sophisticated and french – lovely ; )

  11. Debs said

    Ooh I have just ordered this fabric and was thinking of what to do with it, love the red/grey contrasts in the web, just have to wait for it to ship from US to UK now! Impatient already!

  12. MichelleB said

    Thanks for the tutorial. It looks like something even I could do!

  13. D Spack said

    Have you seen Pioneer Woman’s recipe for chocolate truffles with sea salt???

  14. Sarah said

    Oh man, MORE chocolate I don’t know about??? Ok, going off to google Naked chocolate now…. great tute by the way, I have had my fair share of spiderwebs made in a lot of different ways, but this is a goodie

  15. Great chocolate covered spiders – Saturday night lives on!!

  16. aneela said

    Of course Katy has drafted in me and other euro bee re-inforcements to make her a spidey-block each so I have tried Marit’s tute and found it so easy (except somehow I managed to go slightly wrong!). I was quite shocked at the fabric wastage of the foundation fabric though so your modifications are being very well recieved in this rain-soaked country of the earth.
    Maybe I should start stockpiling chocs too…………….just in case…

  17. nanette said

    I’m dying to do this. No more new projects this year but I want to do this next year. Love the method and instructions.

  18. Lisa A said

    So, what kind of paper did you use? Did you find it shrank any at all with multiple ironings? I really like the variety of your kite background pieces.

  19. sewplay said

    Oh my goodness that is fantastic. I never would have thought. Thank you!

  20. Amy said

    Wow — you have such VISION!!! That block is fantastic in your fabrics. Were you surprised, or did you just know it would look so great???

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment