February in be “tween” books

It looks like February was a slower reading month around here. Nothing wrong with that, but it makes for a shorter post.

The “tween” favorite book of the month was Percy Jackson & the Olympians Book One: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. Action packed adventure along the lines of Harry Potter but with Greek mythology involved. Highly rated. The movie was a bit of a disappointment compared to the book as it left out at least two main characters…among other things, I’m sure. I’ll probably be able to report out on book two for March and let you know how the series is going.

The second favorite book for February was Millions by Frank Cottrell Boyce. Yes, this is the book the movie was based on. Who knew? Although Wikipedia says:

“The screenwriter Frank Cottrell Boyce adapted his novel while the film was in the process of being made.”

I’m not quite sure what that means, timewise…whether there was a book first or a movie first. Oh well.

In any event, the book was enjoyed and now she can see the movie!

The final February book was The Time Bike by Jane Langton. Not the favorite for the month but good enough to stay on the list without being forgotten.

In the slower grown-up reading side of the house, I finished The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker. I tried to read Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford. All credibility and faith in the author was lost when he  claimed early on that, in 1986, people used the phrase “24/7” and used online support groups. I think we’re done here. I’m almost finished with Yellow Raft in Blue Water by Michael Dorris. I’m enjoying it. I’m glad I was halfway through it before I updated my extremely slim knowledge of the author. Now I’m just getting through it so I can decide what to read next — will it be Wolf Hall or Let the Great World Spin??

And that’s the February fiction report. What are you reading that’s good? The March report should be exciting since March is reading month!

11 Comments »

  1. ~Michelle~ said

    I could NOT put the Lightning Thief down! (I also read it during February) And I read that the movie was a little so-so, as reviewed by people who haven’t read the books, so I’m bound to be a bit disappointed if they left out some characters.

  2. Janet said

    I think I’m going to have to read the Lightening Thief, I’m reading Girl with the Dragon Tatoo at the moment, then I’ll have to read the rest in the trilogy.

  3. Jan said

    My favorite read last month was The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers by Thomas Mullen. This is his 2nd book and it was great. His first was very good, and that’s why I picked up this one with the unusual title.

  4. I loved “Millions” the movie. My son loved the Lightening Thief but we’ve yet to see the movie. We all just re-read Alice in Wonderland and are planning to see Tim Burton’s version (I know it will be insanely weird) over Spring Break. I’m reading my xmax quilting mags still…hope to get through them before summer holidays!!

  5. Jenny said

    ha! i just finished the Lightening Thief on cd…I thought it was good…my 10 year old niece really wants me to take her see the movie!

  6. ibby said

    I downloaded the first Percy book last week and I’m now on the fourth book! My friend saw the movie with her 8 year old grandson and they both loved it. But, they haven’t read the book. I hope to take two of my nieces to see the movie this weekend. Can’t wait.

    I wish I had been able to read Harry Potter and Percy as a child!

  7. ginaquilts said

    I have a tween also. He read the first Percy Jackson book last week and got Book 2 today at the library. This month he (and I) also read the two Suzanne Collins’ books – The Hunger Games and Catching Fire – along with Freak the Mighty by Rodman ?? (last name is escaping me right now). I kind of enjoy tween books too!

  8. pam said

    Jane Langton.. I knew that name was familiar. One of my fav books at a kid was A Diamond in the Window. Now look at all the wonderful mysterious books she has. I love kids books. And reading.

  9. Sarah said

    Wolf Hall, Wolf Hall…. but you know I’m biased on that score. I just started The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver, I’ll let you know what it’s like.

  10. Amy said

    Loved, loved The Lightning Thief, and am starting #4 in the series when I finish Al Capone Does My Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko. The tween might enjoy it too – it’s a Newbery honor book. And anything by Richard Peck is amazing – Long Way from Chicago, Year Down Yonder, Past, Perfect and Future Tense…

  11. Kylie said

    I read The Lacuna last month (Barbara Kingsolver) – well written but went on a bit at the end. Also read the 3 books by Stieg Larsson (the girl with the dragon tattoo series) and LOVED them! Am now reading Wonders of a Godless world (Andrew McGahan) – good so far and a bit different. Pity I don’t seem to have time to do any sewing!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment