Practically magic

The Sue Spargo workshop was stellar! Once I get something show-able appliqued down, I’ll show you. I mainly worked on color selection. It is amazing how much one’s brain can accomplish with expert assistance, but there is little finished product to show. My brain was full and I am still excited and that is worth the price of admission. Now Sue just needs to come to town every other month and I will be a happy camper.

On the other hand, yesterday I was fidgety and couldn’t settle in to a plan of work for a Monday. Aside from laundry and the other assorted mundane Monday tasks. I believe the issue was related to waking up at 4:30 am, listening to the birds’ conversation for a while and then giving up on sleep and going for my walk EARLIER than usual. I was completely crabby with that lack of accomplishment day.

However, today I decided just to pick a task and not try to figure out my “creative path” for the day. Since I never really got on that path yesterday, I was not willing to let myself blow a day. So, the Dandelion Wine quilt needed quilting and look:

It practically quilted itself. After the lengthy stay at the sewing machine of the Midwest Modern quilt, my tush-al area was thinking (and that is, after all, where all the thinking really takes place) it was not ready to quilt again so soon. Apparently, this quilt is just the right size for a pleasant spring day. I should finish this up tomorrow. I am grateful.

Finally, did you see that Anita is going to have a medallion quilt-along? I don’t think I’ll be able to resist. I’ve been thinking about possible fabric directions. That is a sure sign that I won’t be able to resist.

6 Comments »

  1. Anita said

    That is a beautiful quilt! It makes me long for summer. Sigh. 🙂

    Also, thanks for the shout-out for the quilt-along. I’m getting excited.

  2. pam said

    Very cool quilt. Now what’s with the possibly related posts? That’s just crazy.

  3. pam said

    Oh and check out my little crazy icon.. wordpress is going all out today!

  4. Jackie said

    Oh, I hate when days start out like that, with the exception of the chirping birds. Although sometimes you just feel like telling them to be quiet. But, it seems you had a quite productive day! I love the quilt! Do you have a full picture of it? Maybe I will check out flickr. Beautiful quilting!

  5. Jackie said

    OMG, I just perused your flickr photos and love everyone of your quilts! There is not a dud in the group. Love the colors, love the patterns, makes my heart sing, sort of like those 4:30 am birds!

  6. […] reproduction fabrics and get those civil war diary blocks singing for their supper.  But then, Amy mentioned that Anita was starting a medallion quilt-a-long and this just sounded too fun to miss […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

